We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in the Keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #23 of 82 Attractions in Key West
Type: Beaches, Historic Sites, State Parks
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best beach in the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fort Zachary Taylor State Park Is a great place to visit for all ages. You can roam around the fort or one of the trails. If you pay close attention you will see iguana's of varying sizes and color around the fort. In my opinion the best beach in the Keys is at this state park. Nice bathrooms and fast food place for lunch. The water is beautiful and the snorkeling is great. Many types of fish around the rocks about 25 - 35 feet off shore. A must see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    702
    270
    52
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful place! We rode bikes and my husband rented some fins and a masked. He saw a lot of fish. Beach is very rocky but water is gorgeous. Loved it here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUNTINGTON, WV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Actually went because someone recommended the beach and went into Fort Zachary Taylor while we were there. Self walking tour. Interesting history. Would recommend.

There is no naturally occurring sand on Key West. This beach consists mainly of broken coral. Very hard at least on my tender feet. Pretty setting. Best beach on Key West that we found was off of Simonton Street. Very small put not as hard on the feet and water was calmer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great beach, park and snorkelling.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent a couple of days on the beach inside the national park. The beach is great for snorkelling (equipment can be hired on site). There are a few man made reefs which attract loads of interesting fish, I even saw a barracuda ..... Great facilities too with a decent cafe, shop, rest rooms and showers available. Loungers and umbrellas available to rent. $7.50 entry for a car and 3 people. Must visit while in Key West.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great sunsets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great place to see the sun set and you can even take food to make your own barbecue. We enjoyed a great barbecue there and we stayed until sunset. Really a great sight! One of the best sunsets I've ever seen.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.