We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for a snack and beach visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$69*
and up
Best Key West Schooner Sail and Reef Snorkel with...
Ranked #19 of 144 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a snack and beach visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

great beach, nice waters to swim in, a bit rocky for kids. A lovely cafe up from the beach for ice cream and beverages.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,374
    963
    364
    74
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting fort, great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is an awesome beach. Load up and pay per vehicle. It's worth it. You can rent snorkel equipment. The water is great; it's clear and shallow. The beach is rocky and full of pebbles and shells, but still very comfortable. We loved it. There are free tours of the fort at noon. There's a great view from the fort.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice spot for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good beach for families to spend the day at. Has a nice food shack and changing area to clean up/use the restroom. Beach was also clean. My only suggestion would be to wear water shoes. There are lots of rocks entering the water.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great spot in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We liked this beach so much that we came back twice in one day. First time snorkeling and had a blast. Watched boats, packed a picnic lunch, and enjoyed the sand. Only bad part: our lack of adequate sunscreen led to a painful burn the following days! Wear lots of 50+!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing snorkelling - if you're patient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Within 6 feet of the beach (around the boulders) the marine life is stunning. Swim over (gently) and wait a few moments. The shy fishes will emerge to surround you in an abundance of colour and diversity. This truly is a wonderful place and the fact that this tropical fishtank is right on the beach means it is accessible to even the most cautious snorkeller. We saw everything from Blenney to Barracuda and all the diversity inbetween. Tip: be patient, be quiet and go early in the day, because when all the noisy families arrive, they scare the fish back into their hiding places. Nevertheless, we had two of the most memorable hours of our lives interacting with the marine life at Fort Zachary Taylor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.