We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Beaches, Historic Sites, State Parks
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Savona, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Deserves the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice clean beach inside, you can rent chairs. Bar available as well. Enjoyed to walk here from our Hotel close to duval Street on a Sunny March

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    927
    671
    253
    49
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marine City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Sunset Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the place to be at sunset. There are spectacular photo opportunities here with the tall ships going by (sunset cruises) and the palms. Very beautiful. Also some interesting facts about President Taylor, the Civil War and the Fort--while you're waiting for the sunset!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Nice Park and Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We checked out the Historical Fort and brushed up on the History of it. There is only a small fee to get in .The white, sandy Beach is great. There are BBQ Pits under the Cypress Trees . We had a little cook-out, went swimming in the turquoise water, and had an inexspensive, lovely day!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really fun snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to Key West a few times and this is the first time we went to the State Park. We were missing out! We had a great time snorkeling (3 kids, ages 11-15)...we saw lots of fish, moray eel and it was around these rocks close to shore. Nice beach for Key West (since they are not known for their beaches. ) The fort closes at 5 so we missed seeing the fort but will for sure come back to see it some day....looks neat!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good to see once.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice to explore once. Not a lot to see and more information should have been there so we understood what we were looking at. A lot of people goofing off there which made it uncomfortable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park to your Saves list