We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Park and Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Beaches, Historic Sites, State Parks
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Nice Park and Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We checked out the Historical Fort and brushed up on the History of it. There is only a small fee to get in .The white, sandy Beach is great. There are BBQ Pits under the Cypress Trees . We had a little cook-out, went swimming in the turquoise water, and had an inexspensive, lovely day!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    668
    253
    49
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really fun snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to Key West a few times and this is the first time we went to the State Park. We were missing out! We had a great time snorkeling (3 kids, ages 11-15)...we saw lots of fish, moray eel and it was around these rocks close to shore. Nice beach for Key West (since they are not known for their beaches. ) The fort closes at 5 so we missed seeing the fort but will for sure come back to see it some day....looks neat!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good to see once.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice to explore once. Not a lot to see and more information should have been there so we understood what we were looking at. A lot of people goofing off there which made it uncomfortable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great picnic & swim fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The fort itself is really interesting but the beach there is real nice. Plenty of room for picnic, BBQ's or just fun in the sun! Worth the small admission price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't put your towel down here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wife and i loved the park itself but the nasty attitude by the 'umbrella rental' guy was not what we would have expected - you can't put your towel there - those people have the space around the umbrella...what??

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park to your Saves list