We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Zach and the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park like an insider
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Key West Schooner Sail and Reef Snorkel with Lunch
Ranked #19 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Des Moines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fort Zach and the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love going on the tour of the Fort and hearing the history. If you make it there the first weekend in December there is a Pirate Festival. I also love to go to the beach there in the park. There is excellent snorkling, if the weather is just right there. It is a beautiful beach. There is a snack shop and alcohol is also sold there but has to be kept on the deck. This is almost a must see for me each time I am in Key West. You will want to be at the end of the park at dusk to get picture of the sun setting. There are always lots of boats and it makes beautiful photo opportunitites.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,242
    862
    323
    63
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
clifton park new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beach Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We walked in to the park for some beach time. The beach is rocky, but the park is very nice. Spent the time under a pine tree relaxing reading a book. There is a snack bar there so you can get a drink or a sandwich.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Private setting but open to the public”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you are looking for a low key beach with palm trees for shade to picnic under, then this is the place! It is also a good place for lobstering from the shore, when the season allows.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“No sand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm sure this should be a beautiful beach but we were told a huge storm literally took the sand and left jagged rocks. There is no way to comfortably walk on the 'beach' and the smaller rocks just got in our beach shoes, so even trying to walk in those didn't work. The chair/umbrella attendant explained a request had gone to the state to bring in more sand. We thought the food was overpriced for the quality and having out two tip jars, one where you pay and the other in the pick-up window, was a bit much. If you just want to sit in a chair with an umbrella then this might be for you, but for a family day at the beach look elsewhere (or call first and see if the sand's been delivered).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved taking my children here. My son completely enjoyed. We have gone back several times to make sure he did not miss anything. We even enjoy it being part of the ghost tours..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.