We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Zach and the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #21 of 85 attractions in Key West
Type: Beaches, Historic Sites, State Parks
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Des Moines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fort Zach and the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love going on the tour of the Fort and hearing the history. If you make it there the first weekend in December there is a Pirate Festival. I also love to go to the beach there in the park. There is excellent snorkling, if the weather is just right there. It is a beautiful beach. There is a snack shop and alcohol is also sold there but has to be kept on the deck. This is almost a must see for me each time I am in Key West. You will want to be at the end of the park at dusk to get picture of the sun setting. There are always lots of boats and it makes beautiful photo opportunitites.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    608
    228
    44
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
clifton park new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beach Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We walked in to the park for some beach time. The beach is rocky, but the park is very nice. Spent the time under a pine tree relaxing reading a book. There is a snack bar there so you can get a drink or a sandwich.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Private setting but open to the public”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you are looking for a low key beach with palm trees for shade to picnic under, then this is the place! It is also a good place for lobstering from the shore, when the season allows.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No sand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm sure this should be a beautiful beach but we were told a huge storm literally took the sand and left jagged rocks. There is no way to comfortably walk on the 'beach' and the smaller rocks just got in our beach shoes, so even trying to walk in those didn't work. The chair/umbrella attendant explained a request had gone to the state to bring in more sand. We thought the food was overpriced for the quality and having out two tip jars, one where you pay and the other in the pick-up window, was a bit much. If you just want to sit in a chair with an umbrella then this might be for you, but for a family day at the beach look elsewhere (or call first and see if the sand's been delivered).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved taking my children here. My son completely enjoyed. We have gone back several times to make sure he did not miss anything. We even enjoy it being part of the ghost tours..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.