We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Key West Schooner Sailing
Ranked #18 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, Beaches, State Parks, Cultural
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
clifton park new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beach Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We walked in to the park for some beach time. The beach is rocky, but the park is very nice. Spent the time under a pine tree relaxing reading a book. There is a snack bar there so you can get a drink or a sandwich.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    722
    278
    54
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Private setting but open to the public”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you are looking for a low key beach with palm trees for shade to picnic under, then this is the place! It is also a good place for lobstering from the shore, when the season allows.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No sand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm sure this should be a beautiful beach but we were told a huge storm literally took the sand and left jagged rocks. There is no way to comfortably walk on the 'beach' and the smaller rocks just got in our beach shoes, so even trying to walk in those didn't work. The chair/umbrella attendant explained a request had gone to the state to bring in more sand. We thought the food was overpriced for the quality and having out two tip jars, one where you pay and the other in the pick-up window, was a bit much. If you just want to sit in a chair with an umbrella then this might be for you, but for a family day at the beach look elsewhere (or call first and see if the sand's been delivered).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved taking my children here. My son completely enjoyed. We have gone back several times to make sure he did not miss anything. We even enjoy it being part of the ghost tours..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice views, great beaches and nice walks around this state park. The sunset from the park was spectacular.. experience the sunset from both the state park and also if you have a chance from the Mallory Square area, a quite different experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.