We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Key West Schooner Sail and Reef Snorkel with Lunch
Ranked #20 of 187 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No sand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm sure this should be a beautiful beach but we were told a huge storm literally took the sand and left jagged rocks. There is no way to comfortably walk on the 'beach' and the smaller rocks just got in our beach shoes, so even trying to walk in those didn't work. The chair/umbrella attendant explained a request had gone to the state to bring in more sand. We thought the food was overpriced for the quality and having out two tip jars, one where you pay and the other in the pick-up window, was a bit much. If you just want to sit in a chair with an umbrella then this might be for you, but for a family day at the beach look elsewhere (or call first and see if the sand's been delivered).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    935
    351
    69
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved taking my children here. My son completely enjoyed. We have gone back several times to make sure he did not miss anything. We even enjoy it being part of the ghost tours..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice views, great beaches and nice walks around this state park. The sunset from the park was spectacular.. experience the sunset from both the state park and also if you have a chance from the Mallory Square area, a quite different experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best beach in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you like solitude this is the only beach that I have found in Key West that you can truly find this. Nice sand. A little rocky when you first get in the water but fine after that. Nice affordable snack bar with supprisingly good food. Controlled by the parks service security is never a problem.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for the tender foot but great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The beach isn't necessarily sandy, but really nice place to spend the day in Key West. Spend the money to rent and umbrella and chairs. Great concessions, clean bathrooms and wonderfully relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.