We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the tender foot but great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Beaches, Historic Sites, State Parks
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for the tender foot but great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The beach isn't necessarily sandy, but really nice place to spend the day in Key West. Spend the money to rent and umbrella and chairs. Great concessions, clean bathrooms and wonderfully relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    671
    253
    49
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We visited the fort, but didn't make it to the guided tour. Still, it was interesting to walk around, see the views, and we got a lot of the fort's historical detail from the signs posted around the different areas. We attempted to spend some time on the beach, but high winds that day made it very unpleasant, so we didn't stay long.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice beach and lots of rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The beach is nice, but lots of rocks, make sure you were those beach shoes.The concession at the beach offer some beers,wine and sandwiches. There are restrooms,shower and picnic tables, but no alcohol on the sand.they charged $7.00 for two on moped. We rented beach chairs for $10 each, they also have umbrellas, and snorkel gear.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had planned to check this beach out, and we did. There is an admission of a few dollars (2.50), and two of us took the Fort Zachary Taylor tour, and found it a little thin in terms of information and enthusiasm.
The beach is in the same area, and we were told it is the only beach that the locals frequent. There are picnic tables, and concessions, and equipment rentals. We rented snorkeling equipment, and swam around. Yes, you should wear shoes for getting into the water, since the rocks are pretty sharp. The water that day was a little green and cloudy, but we went in December. My daughter got a feeling for snorkeling, and that's what I was looking for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Most go for the beach but the fort is nice to explore. If you want to try some fun shadow, light, focus playing with your photos lots of interesting parts to play with

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park to your Saves list