We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach and lots of rocks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$69*
and up
Best Key West Schooner Sail and Reef Snorkel with...
Ranked #19 of 144 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice beach and lots of rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The beach is nice, but lots of rocks, make sure you were those beach shoes.The concession at the beach offer some beers,wine and sandwiches. There are restrooms,shower and picnic tables, but no alcohol on the sand.they charged $7.00 for two on moped. We rented beach chairs for $10 each, they also have umbrellas, and snorkel gear.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,374
    963
    364
    74
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had planned to check this beach out, and we did. There is an admission of a few dollars (2.50), and two of us took the Fort Zachary Taylor tour, and found it a little thin in terms of information and enthusiasm.
The beach is in the same area, and we were told it is the only beach that the locals frequent. There are picnic tables, and concessions, and equipment rentals. We rented snorkeling equipment, and swam around. Yes, you should wear shoes for getting into the water, since the rocks are pretty sharp. The water that day was a little green and cloudy, but we went in December. My daughter got a feeling for snorkeling, and that's what I was looking for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Most go for the beach but the fort is nice to explore. If you want to try some fun shadow, light, focus playing with your photos lots of interesting parts to play with

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Went here off the cruise ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stopped in Key West on a cruise and after touring the city, we stopped here for a swim. It was a few dollars to get in the gate, and we walked down the road and onto the beach. Everything was great, except there were a lot of sharp shells as you enter the water, but that didn't stop us! Visibility was good, and the water a bit chilly (March) but it was fun. I would go back to this beach in a heartbeat. I briefly lost my sunglasses in the water, but a kind fellow found them as the washed up and returned them. There is a webcam of this beach available online if you search google.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beach was rocky but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The fort was fun to walk through. The beach wasn't crowded, but in december the water was a little cold. The actual beach is small and rocky. Hardly any waves, lots of people were snorkeling.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.