We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park

Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park
Southard St on Truman Annex, Key West, FL 33041
305-292-6713
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Key West Schooner Sailing
Ranked #18 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, Beaches, State Parks, Cultural
Activities: Fishing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site of a Civil War-era fort, currently being excavated; also has a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice time at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is one of the longer beaches in Key West that I'm aware of. Their was a small fee which is great because it keeps out people that would normally hang around a public beach. We stayed to the far side of the beach and had no trouble with seaweed or rocks. We also snorkeling around the rocks and saw a ton of different fish. Just note, you are not allowed to have alcoholic beverages on the beach, even if it's on a coozie. Some rangers are nicer than others if you break this rule. So if you decide to drink, take something besides beer. We spend the entire day at the park and even left and came back with fish to grill (you can leave and return as many time during the day). It's also a great place to catch a sunset because the island nor people are in the way of your view. Great beach!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    732
    280
    57
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best " Beach " in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Definitely the best beach in Key West. Knowing that the keys beaches are nothing like the rest of the state's with beautiful soft sand, still some reviewers had me skeptical about the conditions of the beach. There is beautiful sand on the beach, but as you get closer to the water it consists more of tumbled coral pieces. Very tumbled and smooth. Some warned of wearing beach shoes - if one has very sensitive feet I can see that, but you'll hardly hurt yourself. If you ever spend time barefoot... you'll be just fine without.

We snorkeled by the rocks. Visibility was pretty poor. The beach faces south and is at the brunt of the southerly winds. The splashing onto the rocks i would think keeps the water pretty cloudy. There are some fish (parrot fish, tang and others) but I wouldn't say it's a replacement for or anything like snorkeling a reef. The snack bar has lots of options, but is pricey for what you get. ($8 for a turkey wrap that literally had two slices of turkey and a mountain of lettuce) Do yourself a favor and bring in a picnic lunch. They don't allow alcohol brought in, but do sell it - to be consumed up at the snack bar.
Overall, a great place to spend the day. ( Definitely drive if it's hot... could be a very long sunny walk)

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular wedding site!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I have been going to Key West for some time now with my family, and decided to have my destination wedding there. Fort Zach was PERFECT! Absolutely beautiful atmosphere you cannot beat! The wedding coordinator there, Kirsten, was GREAT! No stress for me... and it resulted in a fabulous day! Not only is it perfect for a wedding, but we spent many beach days there as well. Great concession stand, views, and accomadations. But definitely bring water shoes, the beach is rocky! You can't beat this beach in Key West!!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This beach lifts the spirits. The view is incredible. The concession stand is much better than in years past. The bathrooms are clean. My only wish is that they stayed open another half hour. You cannot enjoy the sunset here, they come around on a golf cart and kick you out.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

While this is not much of a beach, the views are breathtaking. No, it's not a sandy beach like South Beach in Miami, but it's the Keys. There are more rocks/pebbles floating in the waves, but at least there was not as much seaweed. Also noticed no portugese man-of-war like we've experienced in Miami.

VERY laid back and family oriented. Since it is a State Park, there's no obscene sunbathers to worry about your children seeing.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Zachary Taylor Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.