We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better show outside. ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Shipwreck Museum

Key West Shipwreck Museum
1 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
305 292 8990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the rich history of Key West’s shipwrecking past at the Key West Shipwreck Treasures Museum. Shipwreck artifacts, including a silver bar you can hold, fill the museum that is recreation of 19th century wrecker’s warehouse. A lookout tower and audio-visual displays share with guests the experiences of the dangerous world of ship wreckers. Storytellers, in period costume, bring history to life with tales ensuring a fun and fascinating experience for the entire family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better show outside. ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Save ur money and watch the small show from outside. Inside is dark and not alot to see. My mom had a cast on and could not walk the stairs. They should have let us know before. It was a not worth the money at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton C, General Manager at Key West Shipwreck Museum, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I am sorry your visit to your museum did not meet your expectations. There is some climbing involved with the Shipwreck Treasure Museum and we do have an elevator for those folks who cannot make the climb up to the first landing where they will find many exhibits along with audio visual displays.

We do have a 100% money back guarantee that you can access from the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    129
    63
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Long climb, but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Tour was really pretty neat. Lots of old artifacts there. Wife and I climbed to the top of the lookout, which was a lot higher than it looks, and enjoyed it quite a bit! Think it would be best to get this with a bundle, but it's good as a stand alone too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesup, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Handicap Beware!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is so not worth it. I took my mom to this place. I asked before buying tickets if there was an elevator because my mom couldn't do stairs.. The reply, " oh yes!" We get inside....No elevator. Was told my mom could she could watch a "video" of the contents inside the building..!! What?! I paid for her to stand in a corner to watch a video with earphones.. Never Again! No worth it!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton C, General Manager at Key West Shipwreck Museum, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the experience you had with our museum. We do have a lift ithat provides wheelchair access to the main floor, approximately 6 feet above the street. Once on the main floor, guests are able to view all treasures and artifacts on that floor. To further the experience, we have created an accessible viewing station that has information and video presentations from the second floor exhibits, a pre-recorded 360 degree view from the tower, as well as the video presentation from the theater room. This information should have been provided to you when you called and I can assure you that I have personally reviewed this with our entire staff.

We do have a 100% money back guarantee that I hope you will take advantage of by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fun for the Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

As locals, we can tour this location for free the first Sunday of each month. We took the kids there and they had a fun time, although the tour guy was into his role a bit too much and the tour dragged on a bit longer than it needed to. Really cool artifacts to see and an amazing view of the island after climbing to the to of the look out tower. It's not for the faint of heart. The climb is worth it, though. A fun place to go and explore.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“You may just forget you are in the current year and drift back to the shipwreck days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Shipwreck Museum in Old Town Key West is a "must do"! You may just forget what time period you are in because you will be greeted by a ticket sales person who will be in character and take you back to the day. Shortly afterwards, you will be again greeted by a character who is in the dress and mindset of the treasure hunters themselves.

Key West history is revealed alongside information about the first inhabitants who's names remain on the street signs in Old Town.

This is the real thing, I highly recommend you try the experience. PS Bring your camera to capture some pictures from atop the look-out tower . . . . scenes you will not soon forget.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Shipwreck Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Shipwreck Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Shipwreck Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.