We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is fair.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Key Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
3BR Villas Available!
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The place is fair.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First, the hotel is nice, not great. The 'beach' is misleading. There is no beach. It is a strip of sand that they put in front of a fence. The room is large but you can not get to the bathroom if someone is sitting at the desk. The hotel is very large and spread out. Our hair drier was broken. We asked for another one and waited until our hair air dried. They never came.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,928
    677
    244
    109
    66
See reviews for
907
1,134
61
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I checked out of Parrot Key today. We enjoyed our stay but....$25 per day resort fee but there are NO amenities....parking, newspaper, water or fruit in the lobby...,Nothing. We stayed two nights and our room was never cleaned. We each had one towel that we used for three days.
BUT our main comment is if you are looking for quiet.... This is the place. It is the "deadest" place we have ever seen. There is no tiki bar. There is a bar by the pool, with a bartender who was not bit friendly or fun. Think it closed around 7....
Also, construction on route 1 was a huge hassle.....
Again.....if you like quiet and being totally a bored.....ths is the place for you.



The grounds are beautiful though.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel was not what I expected. Check-in was almost at night, it's like an efficiency, you have to share the same house with another family, same door and everything. Definitely not worth the price. The bathroom was dirty and leaking, and a cockroach got into one of the beds at night.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good, they're all small and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here in our recent visit to KeyWest what a disappointment ! Check in was 4 pm we arrived at 430pm room not ready ...nowhere to leave luggage .....5 00 pm room still not ready strike 1 .. We were told we would get called when room was ready. Walking around overgrown grounds we heard a couple guests complaining about housekeeping to a worker (bad sign) 530 we went back to front office .....our room was finally ready( no one called, we went back up to see what the problem was) ....our room lower walk out waterfront that u never see because of the mangroves, and condo roofs they say...watch beautiful sunset on their private deck!! NOT this little walk out holds 5 people comfortably and you only see the sun go behind the condos blocking the view!! Fail! Next day we headed out early to tour key west left room at 8am returned at 430pm and our room still had not been serviced, we needed new towels for a shower husband found a maid to give him towels he told her we needed someone to clear out garbage no one came, next day maid did not come again why ???...their card states the room is serviced daily! NOT....Pool bar watered down and overpriced drinks. Parking if you don't get a spot early you park at Walgreens next door.... my advice stay anywhere else, I expected better service. Not to mention the construction on Roosevelt to get to and from hotel... Pain in the butt!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were very impressed with the lovely room and location. The staff were helpful and the swimming pools warm and secluded. We had a canal side room and they have chairs on a little veranda overlooking the man made sandy area. We were only there for one night and sadly the people next door and upstairs were selfishly noisy! We had thumping loud music until 4am. There was no-one on reception and although the message said to call security in an emergency we didn't think that this counted. The next morning the receptionist sad that it did and security woud have spoken with the offenders! So not the hotel's fault, but we deliberately chose this hotel away from the centre of Key West, but unfortunately the noise followed us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The property is beautiful but way over priced and not worth it! There is no parking which is what you would expect in Key West but not from a higher priced"resort". At least you get to park in the next door Walgreens, they actually have beer there because the "bar" onsite is a joke. This "resort" is definately not geared towards fun or any other activity other than doing nothing so if you plan on staying in Key West stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you have children who love to swim, stay here. As a Dad, usually we go in to play with them. At this resort, they have 4 beautiful and private WARM pools. What a pleasant surprise. Each morning we could enjoy coffee and a warm swim and then go enjoy Key West, returning later to another enjoyable day at the pool.

We really loved this place. The rooms are large and nice. The beds are very good. There are nice little porches to sit outside and the property is gorgeous and tropical.

Once you pull in you forget Walgreen's, Home Depot and Roosevelt Blvd. It is a quite oasis where you can truly relax. We enjoyed a courtyard view and liked the fact that it blocked the breeze which blew this time of year in Key West.

We ate one meal at the tiki bar and it was good and there is always drinks available.

Parking is tough to find here but parking at the Walgreen's was not to big an inconvenience.
The construction on Roosevelt is a bit aggravating as you return from Key West each day but that is a small price to pay to stay here.

I would recommend to all ages and families too! We had our cooler stolen from our porch on our last night but even with that, we would not hesitate to come back. It is really only a 10 minute drive into Key West and we found 24 hour parking everyday for $10 in downtown Key West off Greene St.

Room Tip: think about where you may have to park and also we did not see an elevator for the 2nd floor units s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. Welcome to Parrot Key Hotel & Resort, the finest waterfront luxury resort in Key West. Located on the Gulf of Mexico, just minutes from Historic Old Town, our Key West hotel has the largest hotel rooms and suites on the island. Indulge in island living with authentic Conch-style design and details. Set among five acres of award-winning landscaping and palm groves, our waterfront hotel features four dramatic, secluded swimming pools, each nestled in its own garden paradise. Experience white-sand sunbathing terraces, spectacular sunsets, onsite water sports, and of course, the electric happenings of Key West. Just outside your front door, enjoy casual island dining and refreshments poolside, at Cafe Blue. ENJOY THE FOLLOWING FEATURES AT OUR LUXURIOUS RESORT: - Choice of waterfront and garden view Key West rooms, suites and villas - 74 King or double queen guestrooms (375 square feet) - 74 One and two- bedroom suites (625-925 square feet) - 74 Spectacular and spacious three-bedroom villas - Four stunning pools with poolside dining and tiki bar at Cafe Blue - Onsite watersports, fitness center and nearby Key West attractions - Complimentary shuttle service to Smathers Beach - Patio, porch and/or balcony with all rooms - Exclusive white-sand sunbathing terraces - Complimentary Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access property-wide - Internationally recognized sculpture gardens - Concierge services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Key Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.