We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parrot Key Resort Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Key Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Parrot Key Resort Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Beautiful Little getaway on the island of Key West. Loved the small secluded pools and the porch and sand right out the back of the room. Leaves some decision making on how you get down to the main part of the island due to its north/east location but all and all a beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    684
    244
    110
    67
See reviews for
914
1,137
63
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This resort is nothing more than a Holiday Inn except that it costs a small fortune. There is no beach period. The rooms (porches) are right on top of each other and every window looks into another room. The four pools are large tubs and they are all shaded so you will not get much of that warm Florida sun. A Caesar salad at the pool bar is $15 and served with attitude. You can get a better salad from the fridge at Walgreens in the parking lot. That's right. In the parking lot. This "Resort" shares it's parking with a drug/liquor store and a huge Home Depot. It is nice to open the patio door to your expensive suite and listen to the parking lot music from the store lamp post speakers. You can get away from that noise by going into their Fitness facility. It is a large closet with outdated marginal equipment.

Now for the bad news. They slip a "resort fee" onto your bill after you check out. I found it on my credit card bill a day later (They were closed at the front desk when I checked out at 6:15 AM !!). They charge you $25 per day on top of their exhorbitant rates and multiple sales taxes... I called about the "resort fee". The nice lady explained that it was for the nice millionaires that own the facility to reinvest in their resort. You know, upkeep, cleaning... I told her I didn't think that was appropriate and that it was underhanded and equivalent to mugging someone in a back alley. She told me (Donna) that she would tell her manager but in her opinion I was "screwed".

I will never frequent any of their properties ever again. I asked them to correct the injustice and they said we got your money, tough luck, buyer beware.

Key West has a lot to offer and a plethora of nice places to stay. Some are even near the beach or town. Parrot Key Resort has a beautiful website to bait you with wonderful pictures to entice you but they absolutely do not deliver. They are on a major roadway and completely surrounded by strip malls. There is a traffic jam in their driveway all day with all the cars coming and going to the stores in that same parking lot. The "beach" is trucked in sand and if you do not have a room on the sand you will be standing in someone else's space trying to look through the scrubby mangroves to see a small bay with strings of power lines on poles going through it towards the backside of the naval base.

For the record, this is my first bad review. I research my travel very thoroughly and generally have very good results. The lady at the Parrot Key office was right. I got screwed. Your money is better spent elsewhere. These people will prey upon you at every opportunity.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The resort is beautiful. The ambiance is unbeatable. As you walk through the property you are surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers. The smell is wonderful! The four pools ensured we were never crowded or cold as they are heated! The location is great and close to everything we need including Duval St! I will definitley be staying at Parrot Key again when I am in Key West!

Room Tip: The view from anywhere on the property is great but if you get a pool side room you have a better ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Parrot Key. The grounds were breathtaking and the pools were amazing. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool. Our suite was spacious and clean. The staff was so nice and attentive. They helped with advice on what to do and what restaurants to eat at. We highly recommend staying at this resort. When we vacation in the Keys again we will stay at Parrot Key!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have nothing but high praises for Parrot Key Resort. It is just a short bike ride or cab ride to the beaches and old town, but doesn't have the chaos of the rest of Key West either. The staff was very courteous and attentive, and if you really want to know the lay of the land, you must get in contact with the resort manager Mr. Bacon. He was so very knowledgeable & helpful in recommending sights and activities that our whole family could enjoy, as well as where to go for the best night life in Key West! Parrot Key is the only place I'll ever stay in Key West!

Room Tip: Corner Suites are spacious and have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beware! The room rate is not the full rate.
We stayed 2 nights and the place was nice enough with 4 pools (why 4 you may well ask? And I have no idea).
The staff are pleasant enough and the resort is 5 minutes drive to Duval Street. It's handy!
What really annoyed me was the resort fee. ($26 a day or $53 for the stay)
Why isn't this extortion just included in the room rate? It isn't voluntary. It took our room rate from $134.10 per night to almost $200 a night including taxes.
I asked at check in what the fee included hoping for maybe jet skis, snorkelling equipment or maybe a paddle board. Nope none of these.
It was explained that this fee goes back into the resort? Then why not call it room rate? It certainly feels like another case of Key West hustle.
Apparently a number of places in Key West charge resort fee. I say call it room rate and stop the deception. Not good enough I'm afraid.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was the third time I stayed at Parrot Key and, again, I was very satisfied. The staff is always very professional and courteous and the bartenders keep the good times flowing. Its a great place to relax when you're not hitting the downtown scene. My friends and I try to get down to the Keys every fall and I will continue to stay at Parrot Key.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. Welcome to Parrot Key Hotel & Resort, the finest waterfront luxury resort in Key West. Located on the Gulf of Mexico, just minutes from Historic Old Town, our Key West hotel has the largest hotel rooms and suites on the island. Indulge in island living with authentic Conch-style design and details. Set among five acres of award-winning landscaping and palm groves, our waterfront hotel features four dramatic, secluded swimming pools, each nestled in its own garden paradise. Experience white-sand sunbathing terraces, spectacular sunsets, onsite water sports, and of course, the electric happenings of Key West. Just outside your front door, enjoy casual island dining and refreshments poolside, at Cafe Blue. ENJOY THE FOLLOWING FEATURES AT OUR LUXURIOUS RESORT: - Choice of waterfront and garden view Key West rooms, suites and villas - 74 King or double queen guestrooms (375 square feet) - 74 One and two- bedroom suites (625-925 square feet) - 74 Spectacular and spacious three-bedroom villas - Four stunning pools with poolside dining and tiki bar at Cafe Blue - Onsite watersports, fitness center and nearby Key West attractions - Complimentary shuttle service to Smathers Beach - Patio, porch and/or balcony with all rooms - Exclusive white-sand sunbathing terraces - Complimentary Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access property-wide - Internationally recognized sculpture gardens - Concierge services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Key Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.