We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Inn - Key Largo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Key West Inn - Key Largo to your Saves list
Key West Inn - Key Largo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
White Rock, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have traveled extensively and this is the filthiest accommodation we have ever stayed in. From the dirty carpets to the food encrusted cupboard shelving to the filth around all the light switches it was hard to imagine a place so dirty. I booked this room through Booking.com who I have used extensively - they really missed on this one. I could not get my money back so I will let Booking know, the Key Largo booking agencies and the Key Largo Chamber of Commerce and finally the Key Largo Board of Health (if there is one). I paid 360.00 Canadian for this room for 2 nights - I feel that I was robbed.

Room Tip: Run away from this one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    128
    53
    27
    34
See reviews for
79
126
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are two-storied with two bathrooms and fully equipped kitchen. The small minus point was the noise of the bar across the canal, especially in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This place has a convenient location for taking advantage of all the things to do on Key Largo.

The units are big and could accommodate 4 people. There is a master bedroom and full bath on the upper level and below is pull-out sofa and another full bath. Also on that level is fully equipped kitchen - appliances, pots,pans, dishes, silver wear etc.

Units have a small lanai overlooking canal.

Now on to the reality of the place. First, when taking a shower in upstairs bath you wind up standing in a puddle of water a few inches deep. Obviously the drain needs to be cleaned. The bed and pillows comfortable but the TV and furniture is quite outdated. Also there was brochure for programs on HBO, but that channel was not available and the brochure was 2 months old.

One bar of soap in each bath. No shampoo.

Living room also very dated. And none of the lamps were plugged in. One really bad thing I did not tell my wife. The slider on the lanai appeared to have had a break-in attempt ( see photo attached) In any event the damage prevented the door from completely closing, you could 'lock' it but if there was a breeze it would come in, so making a break-in even easier.

The towels felt like coarse sandpaper.

While it had wifi, didn't always work and at least our room had an extremely low level of support for it.

Bottom line there are many other places to stay and even if they cost a little more we would try them rather than stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is good value for money in Key Largo - anywhere in the Keys is expensive. Talking to other visitors, most of the accommodation is outdated and worn, unless you pay double for an upmarket hotel.
We had room 138 - nonsmoking, very clean, definitely tired, worn furniture and bedding etc, but in the end it was very comfortable and roomy.
We enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the canal, watching the boats go by.

Wifi was excellent. 2 bathrooms one up and one down, both very clean.
Aircon and ceiling fans were great. Staff friendly and helpful.
We didn't get a flat screen TV, but never put the TV on once anyway.

The noisy pub at the end was only a problem one night and it was silent after 10pm.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just spend an evening here. the rooms are rather big, and a bit outdated to say the least, but the Inn is convieniently located close to US 1 and backs right up against a canal. It is also within walking distance to a great restaurant- The Key Largo Conch House

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Good location in key largo and unusual in terms of the two floor layout. House keeping twice a week only and the rooms show this as they could definitely do with a clean. Only thing I would say is if you book through some British websites watch the local tax addition which in our case was $50 for a two day stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were large and had a kitchen and a deck to sit on. We really enjoyed looking over the water from the deck. The cleanliness was okay for us. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Address: 201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Inn - Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.