We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Inn - Key Largo

Save Saved
You added Key West Inn - Key Largo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key West Inn - Key Largo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Carlisle, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here with my 3 kids as we were doing PADI certification dives at Ocean Divers across the canal. It was great having the amenities of a small apartment. The upstairs queen bed was comfortable for my daughter (10 years old) and I, and the room had a full bath. My 2 sons appreciated having their own bathroom with shower stall downstairs. We used the sofabed and a roll-away which made it a tight fit to get to the kitchen, but it was do-able. The roll-away mattress was not great (surprise), but a trip to the Dollar Store for a $12 eggcrate pad made it fine. We enjoyed reading in the evening on the back porch and hearing the music from the restaurant/bar across the canal. The pool is small, but was nice to cool off after our dives. We were not looking for anything huge. The desk staff was helpful and friendly. There are a couple of coin-operated washers and dryers on the ground floor which were helpful for washing our beach towels. There is no daily maid service, so make your own bed and hang up your towels! (not too tough, really) The main attraction here is the diving and snorkeling, so we were not looking for a posh luxury resort with a spa, restaurant, etc. For the location, it is a good value. The only thing that would keep me from giving it a higher rating is the fact that it is an older property...and there is some typical wear for a place of that age. But I would not hesitate to stay there again for a long weekend because of the price, convenience to dive facilities, cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review of the Key West Inn. I am pleased to see that your suite exceeded your expectations. We get many happy guest that come in and pay a fair price and only expect a normal hotel room with a bed only to find a full apartment when they open the door. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next dive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    119
    48
    26
    30
See reviews for
72
115
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just like all the previous reviews say, the suites are huge! Two floors with large bedroom+bathroom upstairs, living room+kitchen+bathroom downstairs, and a balcony, so tons of space which is great. But the hotel is pretty old and somewhat musty smelling, in need of renovation. Location, on the other hand is great - right on a canal, and you can rent awesome snorkelling and scuba diving tours right at the hotel (and also get a small discount for hotel guests). First night we wanted to stay here, we arrived after 10pm and there was nobody in the office, so make sure you check the hours/call them ahead of time. Other time we arrived earlier and were able to check in no problem. So, overall nice experience, location is great and the suites are spacious, however the hotel is very much in need of renovation or perhaps better cleaning.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room as far as possible from Sharky's pub that is located directly across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Key West Inn. Im happy to see that you were pleased with our staff and room size. We do our best to ensure we meet everyones expectations. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

You know when I first booked this place I read the reviews on here and on other sites etc. and thought ok probably not spectacular but it'll be a decent enough and clean enough place to stay for one night. BOY was in for a surpise! From the outside the building might not look like much (not lousy or run down by any means but not exactly standing out aesthetically let's just say) but when you open the door to your room for the first time WOW! The inside part is quite obviously where they shine at this place. It's like a nice townhouse unit on the inside, VERY clean and nicely laid out upstairs and downstairs to where you would say to yourself yeah these people care about what they're doing. The front desk staff was plenty friendly and helpful and btw as a side note if you're looking for a GREAT place to have dinner and enjoy some live music head down the street 5 minutes to The Bayside Grille this place really turned out to be a good choice..........great food, SUPER friendly staff, excellent live music, and the view right on the water was a major plus (see separate review I posted on here same time as this one). As for Key West Inn I absolutely would stay here again:)

Room Tip: The room they gave me was a 2nd floor unit facing the street and the layout on the inside was like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Key West Inn. Its great to see that you were pleased with your suite. We do take pride in the amount of room we provide for each of our guest. We are definately not your normal box style room with a bed. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked a last second stay at the Key West Inn for Fall Break for the night. It is conveniently located in an area that you can take snorkel trips, rent a jet ski, fishing trips or scuba dive - which in essence - is all there is to do in Key Largo.

The hotel is old and could be a nice location - but that would require someone putting money into the property - which would likely be a BIG number.
There is a small pool and decking area where you can hang out and have something to drink - and down below near the canal - there is a grill with tables where you could hang out (all of which we didn't use).

I didn't get my bill - so I don't know about whether I was "dinged" for a resort fee or not - but for the price of staying there for a night and 1/2 day - I was fine with the rate - especially compared to the Marriot, Courtyard, Holiday Inn and Hampton Inn.

The rooms are old - but you have a frige, microwave, and stove - so if you want to cook you can. There is a lower sitting area with a pull out sofa and a queen bed upstairs (careful - if you have knee problems the stairs to the upstairs are very steep and small footings).

The room is good for families - would NOT recommend for couples unless you're looking to stay for an extended period or need a low rate. The rooms cool off very well - but they just are simply there for convenience - not the modern amenities.

The televisions are from the 90's and you get cable channels. That's pretty much it other than coffee in the morning at the lobby area.

RECOMMEND - IF YOU WANT A GREAT BREAKFAST - DON'T STOP at the fast food or Waffle House restaurant which is nearby - stop by Starbucks and get your "good coffee" then head over to Doc's Diner - next to the Wendy's - for breakfast - BEST BREAKFAST PERIOD!!! Enough food that you'll take it home for the next day - well worth the stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Key West Inn. Sounds like you enjoyed a non stop day and a half at our property. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you on your next trip down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights, i loved the spacy rooms.The interiour wa s a little bit old, but it was complete which a kitchén and coffe maker.I think it has a good value.
Absolutly quiet by night and a very good bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spontaneously took a trip to Key Largo FL over the Labor Day weekend, we did not book a hotel in advance, wenn we arrived at Key Largo, most Hotels were already booked. I saw the sign of the Key West Inn and gave it a try. The receptionist was very friendly and courteous. The Key West Inn had availability for a reasonable price, I even received an AAA Discount.
We were pleasantly surprised when entered the room or rooms, it was big, 2 Stories , 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen, a private balcony with a beautiful canal view. I will definately stay at this Hotel again when we decide to visit Key Largo again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Key West Inn. We are please to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hear many people say how surprised they are with the size of our rooms, the great location, and affordable pricing. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in this motel, and we didn't expect our room to be so large.
We had 2 stories, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, and a balcony, for the price of a classic motel room.
Other than that, it's a pretty classic place for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Key West Inn. Im glad to see that our hotel met your expectations and that you were pleased with the room size. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Address: 201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Inn - Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.