We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and lots of stairs but good location - split level overlooking canal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Inn - Key Largo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Key West Inn - Key Largo to your Saves list
Key West Inn - Key Largo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average and lots of stairs but good location - split level overlooking canal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel is a split level timeshare type accommodation with full kitchen. Must take steps to get up to unit and then unit is split level with bedroom upstairs. Clean but dated. Balcony overlooks canal which was nice. Sheltered parking. No amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, etc. Okay considering price and location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    125
    49
    26
    33
See reviews for
77
119
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This townhouse is set up nicely for staying a week or more except for limited amount of kitchenware. I did not appreciate being lied to about having HBO! hadn't even asked about it. When we checked out I asked them to remove the phone and safe charges ($6--since we didn't use them) and they did so. We loved relaxing on the screened-in porch facing the canal including the live music which ended about 10 pm. The short walk to the boats on the canal provides access to all sorts of water-sport businesses including the African Queen! I appreciated having three separate areas to spend time in: balcony, living room w/TV, and upstairs bedroom w/TV and second bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks you for taking the time to review The Key West Inn at Key Largo. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite and the surrounding areas. I apologize about the HBO. We do have the channel, but there was some issue with the service provider. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is quite old and shows its age in places.
However the rooms are really large and very comfortable. Better than that we were able to shop at the local Publix and cook for ourselves in the fully equipped kitchen.
Great spot to stop but don't be mislead by the name of the place. It is in Key Largo and is over 80 miles to Key West.
Good value though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Key West Inn. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and our spacious rooms. We try our best to give our guest the best rooms at the best rates. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

These are extremely spacious townhouse style rooms. Downstairs you have a separate living room with queen sofa sleeper, bathroom with shower, kitchen with eat in table, full refrigerator, microwave, stove/oven and stocked with dishes and utensils. It has a very nice sized balcony with another table and chairs. The balcony is screened in, which I would have at times have liked to be able to open up and lean out but it does make it pleasant for sitting out there and watching the boat traffic on the canal. As others noted there is a bar across the canal with live music but it is the perfect volume, not intrusive and very nice to have as muted background noise sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine.

Upstairs is a large bedroom, with tons of drawer space, a full bathroom with bathtub, and a table with chair.

It was very clean, carpets, furnishings, paint, appliances, bathrooms were all in great condition.

They have a very nice pool, small but very sufficient. It looks over the canal and there are plenty of tables, chairs and loungers to relax on.

The location on the canal is phenomenal and it was only about 2 minutes to the dock where several dive/snorkel/boat rental operators are located. It is a quick drive to numerous restaurants, stores, shopping, etc.

Staff were great! Super friendly and welcoming. Parking is right outside your unit so no long trek with suitcases or groceries. Because of the size and layout of it you could comfortably have two couples sharing it (one upstairs and one downstairs) or great for a family without feeling cramped or crowded at all.

I will definitely be staying here again and recommending this to all my diver friends as a great diver's place to stay when diving in Key Largo!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Key West Inn. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our easy listening music over a glass of wine; thats what the Keys are all about. I am also happy to see that our spacious suites fit your needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ok - the carpet & paint look dated, but bathrooms appear to have been updated. Each unit is like a one room two story condo. It had two full bathrooms & a kitchen w/oven, dishwasher,fridge and microwave. Went through Priceline, off season & Got a room for $89/night. Probably higher during peak tourist season. Each screen sunroom (off Kitchen at back of unit) overlooked the canal. There were not many people there so it was quite. In peak season, however, I expect you could hear people in the next sunroom to right & left of your unit. Still, it was cool to see the snorkle & dive boats going out in the morning and several operated at the hotel or walking distance, making it convenient to get your stuff, walk out of your room and get on a boat or jet ski.


The African Queen (from the movie) operates canal tours nearby - we got to see it go by - cool. Staff were pretty nice and helpful. There was a pool and it looked clean - also overlooking canal - but we did not use. Diver's Direct supply store was walking distance from hotel if you needed emergency water supplies. A glass bottom boat also operates within walking distance. A pub/bar/restaurant/dive center is across from the hotel on other side if canal. If your unit is directly across, it could get noisy. Our unit was further down the canal away from the pub.

I liked that we could open the windows & screen porch (sits at second floor level, parking under unit, so bedrooms are technically third level).

We did not have any issues with extra charges showing up on our bill as some had indicated. We stayed on two separate occasions on way to and from Key West. This is not a spiffy Hampton with cushy bedding, but it is very servicable. We would stay again, particularly if snorkling, for convienience to Sun Divers (I think that was the name). No beach access in the area around hotel, just the canal. Go to Bahia Honda if you want a nice sandy beach.

This is about a 2 star, but safe & well maintained, local mom & pop type hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are at same level, parking underneath units,. Further down canal from entrance is further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager33037, General Manager at Key West Inn - Key Largo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Key West Inn. It seems you were able to experience all that Key Largo has to offer at a very reasonable rate. Im glad to see that you enjoyed our property and spacious rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Got there late at night after landing at Miami, only stayed one night to break up journey to Key West. Lots of amenities (fully fitted kitchen) but poor water pressure and cold water on ground floor plus mould around windows and on shower curtain. Couldn't open net curtains to get to balcony. Would probably look to stay elsewhere if returning to the area. There was a pool there but we didn't try as left early next morning to continue journey to Key West. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were overpriced by Priceline, this Hotel is 2** and they charges us as a ****4 start. Be carefully with the extra fees charged. The good thing was the location and the view. Do more research when you travel with family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Address: 201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Inn - Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.