We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Inn - Key Largo

Save Saved
You added Key West Inn - Key Largo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key West Inn - Key Largo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is surprisingly nice.......regardless of the very low price. You should check it out. Most of the reviewer are spot on, so I won't repeat what has been said already.

BUT VISITORS SHOULD TAKE NOTE You should understand that "The Keys" are a bit of a cultural outpost in the U.S. Often portrayed as an refuge from Real World, they take pride in a laid-back lifestyle, "rough" exterior and laissez-faire attitude. Therefore, you should keep this in mind when you judge the level of service found in most businesses or how "new and manicured" facilities are. Locals take pride in "not taking pride", so remember this when you judge your next waiter or how shiny your next hotel room. This doesn't mean rude or inadequate service should be expected, or that rooms and restaurants shouldn't be clean and sanitary. But just learn to relax a bit, be patient and go-with-the-flow when next check in to a hotel, only to find the front desk empty and the attendant out back having a cigar.

Having a good time in the Keys. You'll like the Key West Inn in Key Largo!!!

Room Tip: Rooms to South are quieter, farther from Holiday Inn bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    124
    48
    26
    33
See reviews for
76
119
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wife had probable bed bugs bites? Matched info on web sites. Old, suspicious mattress and room next door was ungoing renovation with a new mattress in plastic. Were we a victim of this pest? Haven't heard back from management as of yet.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent size, quality and location for a bargain price.

Accommodation was on 2 levels with 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. Decor was straight out of the 70s, but everything was clean and worked well.

Desk clerk was very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area, able to recommend good places to eat and things to see and do.

I booked this at the last minute after an early check out from John Pennekamp campground... which was horrific. This was exactly what i was after. Comfortable, clean and a bargain. I've stayed in better places, but this ticked almost all the boxes. Free WiFi as well - bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room is smashing, but so are the drums coming from across the canal at the bar. No instructions at check in. No breakfast. But rooms are great. We would stay here again. Location is off the main drag which is nice, no traffic highway nose. Only stayed here one Saturday night, thus the loud bar music.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel at 1100 pm and went in to see if they had a vacancy. A van whipped into the "guests only/check in" parking spot right in front of us so we pulled up further and walked in. Come to find out it was the desk clerk who was just coming into work. The lobby had a moldy smell to it an the desk area was a mess. The clerk was horrible and argued with me over the room rate which I had found on hotels.com. He said he would not give me a room at that rate and that I could "try to book it and see what happens". While this was happening, the off going clerk was around the corner, making sarcastic noises. He continued to try and argue with me over the price so I just left. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. We never made it past him, so I can't tell you what the rooms and such are like....I just know that based on how I was treated, that I would NOT recommend this place to ANYONE!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamsburg, Pa.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed Sept. 14 thru Sept. 18 and would have stayed longer if I could. Everybody was great from front desk to booking a snorkeling trip. Pool is small but very clean, nice place to relax. The music from the bar across the canel wasn't to loud and was nice to listen too with a beer on the porch. They even gave me a discount on my last night when I asked. Will be back next year. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Kitchen utensils need upgraded, bigger coffee pots and mugs, bring can opener for bottles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Went to the Keys for Holiday Weekend and late at night could not find a hotel with any vacancy on the main road and pulled off at 1am and found this lovely place. It was 1 am and the front desk clerk was very accomadating. The room was more like a townhouse, and very clean. Upstairs bedroom with bath and downstairs pull out sofa with kitchen and bath. Had a screened in porch right on the canal to watch the scuba and surf boats go out. Has a pool but it is small and we wound up going to Pennecamp State Park for snorkeling but The Key West Inn does have snorkle trips right there at hotel and also jet ski rentals. We will definately go back as we were very happy. Great for families and the price is great! Close to food, shopping and lots of outdoor adventures!

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms look over the canal and that they are all townhouse style so any one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Address: 201 Ocean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Inn - Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.