We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited over 1 hour for food....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille

Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille
97860 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037
305-852-0822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 110 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Waited over 1 hour for food....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place has decent reviews so we thought it would be a good option for dinner one of the nights we were visiting Key Largo but that turned out to be a huge mistake.

I don't know if it's that they were short staffed or just not ready for a busy night but the whole experience was awful. We placed our order for 1 entree and 2 sides that we had planned to share between 2 of us, we waited for about 15 minutes to get our drinks and to get bread (which was actually really good) then after another 15 minutes our waitress came over to say the food should be along shortly and to offer us more bread.....a half hour after that our food still hadn't arrived, at this point it was an hour from the point that we had ordered so we went to settle our bill for the drinks and gave up on getting our food order and left.

There were 3 other tables around us that also hadn't gotten there food by the time we left so who knows how much longer they ended up waiting. By the time we got out of there is was 9:30 so there were really no other options than to grab something quick at a Wendys around the corner...not quite the dinner we had planned on.....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are saddened that you had this experience. Please contact me at the restaurant, 305-852-0822, as I look into this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    158
    64
    22
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place, lousy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We found the food, staff, and atmosphere all above average. Too bad the place is located in the median of a 4 lane highway. Very reasonably priced. they have "all you can eat" fish or crab dinners. There are other more highly rated places nearby, but if you eat inside, or towards the back outside away from the road, go here rather than some of those other places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. :-) Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perrrrfect!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After a "less then perfect " meal at Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, this restaurant was an excellent find!!! Ballyhoo's is an unassuming place with great food! Everything was awesome, from the lobster to their key lime pie. We highly recommend this restaurant :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. :-) please come and see us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A good place for dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Certainly not posh but good food and good waitresses. Wine rather pricey but food good standard and you definitely need to book in advance.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. :-) We are glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“best stone crabs in all florida and fast and nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Today , I was invited for the first time to eat fresh stone crabs in Key Largo Florida, from Miami Florida, we took the turnpike freeway and we decided to order the most expensive dish which was unlimited or all you can eat stone crabs king crabs, snow crabs and all the sides you want to eat, I could not believe the taste and the excellent service, we never ask the lady to bring more stone crabs, that is the best feature I can tell about this restaurant , the waitress was refilling the basket with more and more stone crabs before the basket was empty, we choose the all you can eat stone crab for 75 dollar per person and included all the sides and all the crabs, I ate more than 25 stone crabs myself, the stone crabs were so fresh since the come from an island called marathon which is located few more miles south, I also enjoyed my spouse eating all the stone crabs, the service was fast and the lady waitress was constantly offering more stone crabs and she never ignored us. if you go to a restaurant in Miami area, they will charge you 5 dollars for each stone crab, so to me , it was not a bad deal. I prefer not to eat in a cheap restaurant for a week and save the money for this one, they also have all you can eat snow crabs for 35 dollars with sides, also fresh seafood, and the end, we share a key lime pie, my spouse said that was one of the best. I gave 20 percent tip with happiness because I felt very well served, next time in few moths I will bring my daughter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. :-) We are THRILLED that you enjoyed visit and look forward to seeing you again, with your daughter. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.