We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille

Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille
97860 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037
305-852-0822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 104 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“it's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Tried the crab legs that they advertise and was not at all happy. Too small, too much work for the end result. Didn't try anything else but the crabs were not what I was hoping for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    127
    54
    16
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Suprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went to Ballyhoo with my wife and two teenagers on the recommendation of someone at Ocean Reef. Primarily went for the all-you-can-eat stone crabs. Unfortunately when we got there we were advised they had no stone crabs. The place if a bit dilapidated on the outside - not too impressive so we were a bit undecided about staying. We ended up deciding to stay and not only were we very glad we did, but we also were extremely happy that they were out of stone crabs.
This chef can cook!
Try the fried pink tomato appetizer. We've had fried tomatoes at some very fine white tablecloth restaurants and these were as good as any. Great bread basket with biscuits, and homemade pretzel sticks served with jam - yumm. The jerk mahi sandwich also has the fried tomatoes on it. My 18 year old daughter ate every bite. The steak and curry dish were also very well done and very well presented. Also, the sides - sweet potatoes with marshmallows, and the bacon salt fries - both very good. Excellent key lime.
The type of place that would do well on Triple D - with originality and great execution!
(we tried the boiled peanuts - never had them before - not too appealing to us)!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Their Key Lime Pie is amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in the Keys and planned to eat at a different restaurant everyday. That changed after we ate at Ballyhoo's. The yellow snapper is incredible but the Key Lime Pie is indescribable. We went twice and would have gone a third time but we didn't get to the restaurant before closing our last night. Don't visit the Keys without stopping here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Completely Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I passed this place early in the day and noticed that it looked full so I recommended it to my husband. It was the best decision we have made in the keys! The portions were excellent and the price was lower than most places here. The food was outstanding! It was delivered quick and obvious that everything was made in house and fresh. You must stop here!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Ballyhoos is a good restaurant. They have changed their menu a couple of months ago and it's nice to see new items and the kitchen can always make your favorite dishes that aren't on the new menu. The restaurant is small but cute. The waiter and waitresses all seem to work as a team and don't mind sharing the free wifi password!! I would recommend this restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.