We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, not especially friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Club to your Saves list
35 Ocean Reef Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, not especially friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The location is exceptional. The pools and the rooms are beautiful. As others have stated, it's a private club so at times it is a bit awkward. Rules and a somewhat icy staff made me not want to return. Lovely spot but not very relaxing. Fine for me as I was there for a business conference but wouldn't choose it as a vacation spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    28
    27
    14
    16
See reviews for
40
30
1
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a beautiful property about 90 minutes from Miami. It's very remote and isolated in an area North of Key Largo with nice views, lagoons and pools. My room had a water view and was very nice with appropriate amenities. The property is largely walkable (e.g. pool, conference areas, restaurants.) Both restaurants are good, albeit casual Keys-style dining. Front desk service was terrible. The two women working there were quiet and easily confused by our conference rate and hotel charges and wandered around trying to get help. It seems no manager was on duty during check-in or check-out? After three visits to the front desk, I am not sure they got it right. They could not explain the charges that we would receive--so we get to wait for the credit card bill. Very poor training and service. A colleague traveling with me had the same issues with front desk staff.

Restaurant service was very good. Food was a solid 7.5 out of 10. Not gourmet, but good selection and quality. My room felt updated, although the conference building looked a bit worn. There is NOTHING nearby the resort... no shopping nor convenience stores, gas stations, etc. You are in a giant gated community, so, once the gift shop closes at the resort--you are on your own. The expansive property contains lots of condos and beautiful yachts. The yachts and lagoons make it feel like a real resort, despite some major service flaws. My room was a good size with updated TV and decent internet. I feel the resort is geared toward a very relaxing stay for older couples, golfers or young families who want a remote resort... it's a quiet and "early" place.

The Good:
- Great looking, large, remote resort with Ocean views
- Convenient to walk around, good for couples or families
- Balcony rooms with water view is great
- Designed for golfers and older couples
- Lots of amenities on property, well-stocked rooms

The Bad:
- VERY remote.
- Surprisingly confused front desk workers
- Housekeeping and other guests can be heard due to tile floors
- The front desk directed me to place my breakfast order to the voicemail of room service (everything closes way too early). They never delivered breakfast and never returned my call. That's a dropped ball by management
- So-so water pressure

Despite all these items, I still think it deserves a 3 or 4 out of 5. I am rounding up because it is a nice looking resort. For this money, however, they must re-think quality of front desk staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a water, ocean or lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern, pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Be on lookout for next year Wine and Food Festival at Ocean Reef Club....stayed with my sister and brother in law....had such a fabulous time....the festival was outstanding.....will be looking forward to next year's festival.....loved environment and especially people.....great times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to spend a few days here. First, let me say that the property is beautiful. You truly get the "island" feel while staying there. However, we were disappointed in a number of areas. The bellmen act as though it is an inconvenience to help you if you are not a "member". Yes, this is a private club with people living on the property. This is fine, if only the staff would act like we mattered. If they don't want to treat "guests" politely, they shouldn't have a resort on the property. Next, the gratuity is already included in EVERYTHING.....so the servers have no motivation to do their jobs well (again, "members" were treated like royalty). The room service food was terrible...we wouldn't recommend it. The breakfast buffet on the weekend was decent. The Islander had some pretty good food, so we would recommend eating there as well. As far as activities, there is lots to do...snorkeling, paddle boarding, fishing....etc... The pools are nice and refreshing, but again...the servers at the pool were extremely rude. The only exception was "Charlotte" who made us feel very welcome. If all of the staff were as friendly as she was, it would have made our trip much more pleasant. We should also mention the room size....I have had larger rooms at a Marriott. It was average at best. We were with three other couples, who concurred with our assessment of this resort and the lack of customer service. Finally, there is an abundance of over-privileged teenagers that are allowed to break the rules because their parents/grandparents are "members". We saw quite a few teens who were clearly underage, drinking alcohol. We assume they are exempt from the law, due to their financial status. Overall, we would not return here. The average room with an obstructed view of the water, poor customer service, fair food and "elite" attitude on the property....just isn't worth it. We are sad to say that we cannot recommend this resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very relaxing- pools, gyms, golf, tennis, golf cart and bike rentals. Food is better than average for resort fare.

Fun place for whole family. Beware golf is strict in terms of attire etc.

Overall club has a bit of a waspy/white feel to it; for minorities, people of color, u may feel uncomfortable especially if u r not a cuban from miami.

Far better than cheeca lodge or any other spot in the keys. Also only 1 hour from miami.
Far

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The staff was wonderful, the location amazing. We were in for a short visit and were so sorry to leave. The golf carts will take you all over this large property. We walked to where we needed to go which was also very nice. The variety of classes and events would have kept us busy all day but we just wanted to relax and soak up the sun.

The singer/guitar player by the pool in the afternoon was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Ocean Reef Club Hotel & Resort is simply the very best overall resort in all of Florida! Multiple restaurants from fine dining to casual beach fare, golf galore with multiple courses, a 5 star hotel, deep water marina, amazing swimming in multiple pools and beaches, superb tennis facilities, an amazing spa to die for, private airport, boat and other aqua sport rentals, plus amazing service people who really pamper and care for you. Fishing, diving, snorkeling also some of the world's best here. Whether a family or romantic holiday/vacation this totally secluded resort is unmatched by anything this world traveler and hospitality consultant has witnessed and so very much enjoyed.
You won't want to leave this resort! The accommodations range from their lovely renovated hotel rooms and suites to private condos and homes the Hotel/Club manages, so almost any size family fits in style and luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Address: 35 Ocean Reef Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.