We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise ship on land” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Club to your Saves list
35 Ocean Reef Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cruise ship on land”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a well-managed property. I was there for the Vintage Weekend, and the events were managed very well. You have to charge most things to your "Ocean Reef Club Card", which is not a huge problem unless you are caught without it. There are a lot of benefits for member, so if you are not you will notice "Members Only" lines and parking spaces.

This is a community for people with wealth, they will be sure to meet your private jet on the runway. There is not really anything special here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    28
    27
    14
    16
See reviews for
40
30
1
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a beautiful and well-run resort. My daughter was sick while we were there so we even got the chance to visit the medical center, which is pristine and also well-run. My children delighted in the gorgeous pool and had a blast kayaking in the little lagoon next to the pool. I hope we are lucky enough to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just came back from a wedding at Ocean Reef. Been there many times for business conferences. Wedding confirmed my negitive views and feel compelled to write about it.

The Good: Physical property is well maitained and can be quite beautiful with right landscaping and weather. Rooms well appointed. Service is great. Food in main dining room is excellent, and food in other on site spots like the Raw Bar is also very good. Gated location in out of the way Key Largo keeps only the invited quests and members in the place - - - no riff raff.

The Bad: No beach in Florida. Pool areas weak for Florida. Very few activities daily at resort, and most are out-sourced. No night activity at all. Location in Key Largo may be a benefit to the "want to get away" Miami crowd, but is a real hassle to destination travelers. This is close to nothing and requires back roads through biker bars and no-teeth fishermen to get to. That said, the real negitive issues with Ocean Reef comes down to two undeniable facts: (1) This is an exclusive club, so there are memebers and "guests." if you are not a memeber, you are a second class citizen. For example, there are different facilities, like exercise facilities, for members and guests! The Spa staff looks at you funny if you're not a member. The dining room appears to have separate areas for members and guests. This is unacceptable for a place that charges top tier rates for everything. Being a member at this place is a status symbol for South Florida types, so they and their staff look down upon all non-members. (2) Don't be fooled - - - this is a yacht club, not a destination resort in the Florida Keys. It's all about the boats and everything is designed to accomodate the boat crowd while paying lip service to everyone else. And, among the boat crowd, this is the classic "mine is bigger than yours" place in all of Florida if not the whole USA. Bottom line is that is you don't have a huge yacht in a slip you paid a million bucks to acquire, you may feel out of place. Why go here when there are so many true destination resorts in South Florida and the Keys?

So, all in all, nice place to visit but I won't be back (until I hit the lottery and buy a $25MM boat).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax va
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Attended a conference at this lovely location. Great golf food staff fishing. It has it all. Drive from Miami was easy vistas from room was beautiful good suchi and fresh fish as well as raw bar. Meeting rooms very comfortable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

While I agree with previous reviews that this is a pricey resort, I respectfully disagree with statements about being treated as second class because you are a guest and not a member. That was not our experience at all. It was actually quite the opposite. The staff went out of their way to provide great service and make us feel welcomed. The setting is just gorgeous. We stayed in the Dolphin Inn with gorgeous views of the ocean, the lagoon and spectacular sunrises. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The only negative thing is the price of the food...definitely overpriced. However, we had a rental car so simply went off property for dinners. It was easy and worth it! We were there to attend a conference but will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this property for 2 nights attending a meeting. The rooms were clean and had a very nice view. The restaurants were nice, the food was good, so all in all a very nice place. However, the technology this place uses is from the 60's. Poor phone system and access to services as well as really bad WiFi. If you are there for a vacation and want to get away from it, this is the place. But, I don't know anyone anymore who can be out of touch like that anymore. Improve the technology and this would be a great place.

Room Tip: Get a room at the Inn. The rooms are close to everything and most have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Do not expect to be able to run around Key Largo and the local sites. And do not expect any bargains. And you will be all right.

It is an exclusive resort and it is not cheap and most of the people there are members and regulars. What makes that interesting, is that in most such places you will be made to feel out of place if you are not an owner/member or a regular. Not at Ocean Reef. It is absolutely one of the most accommodating and friendly places you can visit. The food is good. The services are plenty. There is good shopping and there are many other amenities.

If you come knowing what to expect and you can afford it, you will love this place. Otherwise, you may not. Also, remember, this is the Keys. There will not be a great beach such as you find on the mainland of Florida. But there will be great charter fishing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Address: 35 Ocean Reef Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.