We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place. Need work on Technology” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
35 Ocean Reef Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Place. Need work on Technology”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this property for 2 nights attending a meeting. The rooms were clean and had a very nice view. The restaurants were nice, the food was good, so all in all a very nice place. However, the technology this place uses is from the 60's. Poor phone system and access to services as well as really bad WiFi. If you are there for a vacation and want to get away from it, this is the place. But, I don't know anyone anymore who can be out of touch like that anymore. Improve the technology and this would be a great place.

Room Tip: Get a room at the Inn. The rooms are close to everything and most have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    26
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
40
30
1
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Do not expect to be able to run around Key Largo and the local sites. And do not expect any bargains. And you will be all right.

It is an exclusive resort and it is not cheap and most of the people there are members and regulars. What makes that interesting, is that in most such places you will be made to feel out of place if you are not an owner/member or a regular. Not at Ocean Reef. It is absolutely one of the most accommodating and friendly places you can visit. The food is good. The services are plenty. There is good shopping and there are many other amenities.

If you come knowing what to expect and you can afford it, you will love this place. Otherwise, you may not. Also, remember, this is the Keys. There will not be a great beach such as you find on the mainland of Florida. But there will be great charter fishing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Resort property north of Key Largo. It is more remote than the address notes. It's a good 30 minutes away from Key Largo or other places to shop or eat. If you don't want to make that drive then expect to pay premium Resort prices for anything you want to buy, forgot to bring, or their restaurants.

We were on their golf course and was devoured by mosquitos the 1st day. Other guests experiencing the same problem and complaints. They did spray the area the next day so it wasn't as bad the following 2 days BUT plan to bring lots of mosquito repellent. It was a beautiful course so that was a plus.

I was told when making the reservation that they would provide an additional airbed. That there is normally a charge for this but they would waive it for this reservation. When I got the hotel bill I noticed being charged an additional $15 per night for the airbed. When I called to inquire I got a less than friendly person telling me they charge for this service and they wouldn't waive that fee. I was finally told that I could call the Manager on another day to dispute. Certainly not a place for convenience to deal with.

I would recommend staying at other hotels in Key Largo where you have options for other restaurants and shopping. We've been to Ocean Reef twice but the third time won't be there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is not your average beach resort. Your visit starts well before you arrive by getting a referral to enter the secure Ocean Reef Club village of 2,500 acres. Once you arrive, you understand why. This is an exclusive resort and residence for the very wealthy... and that was both good and bad for our family. The Club's pool and dining areas were among the best I've ever seen in a resort. The grounds around our rental house were impeccably maintained and the staff were generally pleasant, especially with my food allergies. However, we were only guests among the super rich who expect to be catered by the staff (as would I based on the cost living there). I was ignored more than once by bartenders and staff who had higher priorities. Overall, I'd rather save a few bucks and visit a less ritzy destination over the luxury offered by Ocean Reef... but it was fun.

Room Tip: The resort is big so be sure you know where your rental is located if you go condo or house rental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well manicured Resort,well trained staff,and top class cuisine.Something to do,for all the family.The pool areas and sandy beach are very well groomed,with plenty of chairs.Attractive pool bar area ,also. Rooms are well appointed,and clean !We will return !Great Job !Try the Sunday Brunch ,delicious !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We were invited to spend the weekend at Ocean Reef. We were upgraded to a gorgeous marina village condo overlooking the yachts.
The resort is lovely and very family friendly. I'm actually disappointed that we left our kids home.
The pool area is perfect for spending the day and letting the kids go on their way.
Loved the golf carts. We had the most fun riding around exploring. This is definitely a boaters paradise!
The only downside would be the food. Restaurants are pricey and average in quality. I wish there were more options, however, next time I would bring food from the grocery store to stock the fridge.
Wonderful weekend- looking forward to returning with the kids... May consider joining.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Amazing resort- the Mosquitos are out of control though- bring your spray! Other than that-AMAZING location!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Address: 35 Ocean Reef Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Club to your Saves list
;