We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle Free Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Palm Inn to your Saves list
Coconut Palm Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   198 Harborview Dr, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hassle Free Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This property features waterfront beauty, easy accessibility to the pool and water without having to plod through the lobby in your bathing suit. Simply step from your room onto your screened in lanai and then onto the pool deck or beach area. The amenities offered include commodious hammocks built for the largest of frames or the friendliest of couples. The pool is heated and allows for swimming laps or acting like a beached manatee. Food and beverage outlets abound up and down US 1. The hospitality of the staff and the stealthy cleaning crew make this a great getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool are most convenient. Garden side rooms offer the quietest experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    120
    44
    8
    4
See reviews for
137
397
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barrieont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Quiet, secluded, a peace of paradise, are the best words to describe our stay at the Coconut Palm Inn. Staff were very friendly, and shared excellent restaurant recommendations of Marker 88 & Snappers Seafood! Our room was clean, king bed very comfortable, and we enjoyed the covered screened in patio overlooking the pool & waterway. There are plenty of pool loungers available around the pool. Relax in a hammock or settle into an adirondack chair and enjoy watching the sunsets.
There are kayaks & paddle boards available, you just need to sign a liability waiver.
Continental breakfast is a small selection of cranberry/banana loaf, packaged oatmeal, oranges/apples, tea, coffee & orange juice.
There are no restaurants within walking distance, but several are within a short drive.
If you expect 5 Star amenities, this is not a place for you! If you are looking for a small hotel with tranquil surroundings, consider here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

we spent four days here, and had a lovely time! There were a problem with the heat, and because they werent going to be able to fix it immediately, we were upgraded to one of their nicest rooms - immediately. Our vacation was incredibly enhanced by this wonderful gesture on their parts. Although the weather was too cold to swim, the warmest spot in the place was around the pool, which was relaxing and lovely. we enjoyed kayaking out to the bay, and watching the sunset from the shore - ONE thing - this resort , is located on the bay of florida, not off the beach. there is sand and adirondack chairs looking out over the water - but u cannot swim here - u r right next door to a marina. Thank u Zee for being so helpful!

Room Tip: we originally booked the standard room. they only have one, and that room is the only one not overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Loved the location and our room.
People at the desk were cheerful and friendly. We were offered a free upgrade when we arrived. It is not pretentious just really good. I found it to be well worth the cost. Their beach is a good place to spend some time. The room was clean and neat. Breakfast was continental, a bit simple but fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Location is most of the charm here. The roomy created beach has pretty dock and water views. Adirondack chairs and hammocks add to a relaxed feel and the pool is a decent size. All good.

The retro décor of the ‘Patio Room’ is appealing with dark wood fittings, ceiling fan and pineapple themed lamps but there is just one chair and nowhere to set much. Suitcases have to lie on the floor. There’s no safe, iron, notepad or room telephone and on an unusually cold night no extra blankets either.

The bathroom is more than a bit rustic for my taste. There’s no shelf to set things on. The rough plaster wall finish which works okay in the bedroom, makes for a changing hut feel in here and is completely lacking in charm. The shower fittings were well past their best.
The large veranda with bug screen was handy for the indifferent weather we experienced. There is a decking area beyond that as well. The wi fi connection was indifferent indoors but better outside.
All tolerable, but this Inn is not budget.
For what is provided it’s overpriced.

What then was the deal breaker?
Breakfast here is the pits!
Coffee, OJ, some sad packets of instant oatmeal, small, unappealing oranges and two types of sickly sweet cake. That’s your lot campers.
It defied belief. Would muffins or bagels break the management bank? This begrudging fare is set out on a beach counter with power points, so a toaster is a definite possibility.
Instead, breakfast is a cynical joke, which the birds would be welcome to.

It makes me question reviewing really. Some other reviewers have complained about the prison rations in the mornings.
Is the management taking any notice?
Why invite criticism like this instead of upping their game in such an easily achievable way?
Filling in this major fault line with some cereal, a few toasting breads and a handful of yoghurts sounds like cheap land reclamation to me.

It also makes me wonder about the more glowing reviews.
Either these people are in a parallel universe or the coconuts have landed on their heads!

Room Tip: All rooms have a good beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 5 nights with our children 9 and 12, wife and daughter relaxed while I dove with my son. It is a very peaceful and quiet retreat...having my own business Wi-fi is a must even when on holiday and it was too erratic to work properly. Our bathroom sink was clogged up and none bothered to check it out or fixed it, hence it was during Christmas holiday.
Finally, for the price we paid more than 300 USD a night, the proposed breakfast was kind of pathetic...

Room Tip: Room 14 is on upper deck and being in a corner, none passes by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had the good fortune to snag a quiet room at this lovely spot quite by accident, passing through and trying a place that was full but called Coconut Palm. We immediately were smitten, by the grounds: white coral sand, coconut palms, a view of mangrove keys and sailboats moored in a bay. The room was small but clean and bright, with new mini kitchenette and good shower. The pool is clean and the ideal temperature. The charm is heightened with pretty lights at night, porches, an abunance of white adirondack chairs, hammocks and other places to sit, two large docks. The staff are very helpful, and I heard them on the telephone discussing at length the types of accommodations that might best fit future guests who called to inquire. There are many kayaks free for guests to use, and beach towels. We hope to return! We were on our way to a monthly rental house in the lower keys, or we would have tried to stay on.

Room Tip: Speak with the staff and you will be assured to find the right room for you! All of the guests were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palm Inn

Address: 198 Harborview Dr, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Palm Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hideaway with only 20 rooms and suites, 450' of sandy sunning beach, dockage, kayaks, boat ramp, pool and alfresco continental breakfast. Rated top 40 Secret Beach Hideaways by Travel + Leisure 2010. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palm Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.