We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 3, 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundowners

Sundowners
103900 B. Overseas Hwy., Key Largo, FL 33037
(305) 451-4502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 104 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“March 3, 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Sundowners was recommended by Amy Slates Amoray Dive resort where we were staying and was only a short walk. We were able to sit outside overlooking the bayside, the evening temperature was upper 70's F to lower 80's F, and very pleasant. The grouper and Portuguese seafood roast specials we had were very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    218
    82
    48
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Minnesota review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The service was horrible, the food came out for 2 of us and then 10 minutes later the rest of our meal came ! The views of the bay are stunning on the deck, but that was about all the positive I can say. We ate there because our children parasailed off the adjacent dock.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh fish, only outdone by the amazing water sunset view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stopped for lunch and enjoyed a fast and easy waterside lunch and immediatley realized this was a perfect spot for a sunset dinner. We were happy we came back. Dinner was excellent.. best meal in Key Largo for us. We both had the specials for the day featuring local fress caught fish.
We dined outside and enjoyed the perfect sunset. While listening to the live music.
Fun spot and perfect view.
Parking is rough... arrive early for your reservation.
Only sit outside!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Used to be amazing. Now just tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I've been going to this place at least 15 years. Wow, it's changed. It used to have great, fresh menu selections properly prepared. Now, even the fried selections are terribly over cooked and tasted frozen. The appetizers were ok. The oysters were great, but even the stone crab claws seemed old and frozen. I asked the server if the Payette dish was fresh or frozen, had being assured it was fresh we ordered it. Sadly, it was not. Even the fish and chips was terribly over cooked.

Maybe we had bad luck, but this used to be a several visit per trip place, and now I will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience for an Sunset Dinner in the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived just as the sun was setting and it was a most amazing experience. We sat on the deck and it was a little cold but loved the ambiance. The staff were super friendly and so patient with us while we took endless photographs and moved around the deck for better vantage points. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Definitely recommend this restaurant for a sunset dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundowners also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sundowners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundowners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.