We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sundowners

Sundowners
103900 B. Overseas Hwy., Key Largo, FL 33037
(305) 451-4502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 110 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant has a fantastic view and outside (as well as inside) dining. I've been coming here for at least 25 years--sometimes traveling to or from Key West, other times to see the beautiful sunsets. The food has generally been above average. Our last visit for lunch was a big disappointment. The problem was apparently with the kitchen. Although there did not appear to be many diners, the kitchen did not produce our orders, and after waiting 40-45 minutes we were on the verge of departure when the meals were brought to us. The waiter was exasperated as much as we were. Being in a hurry we had to gobble down our food and leave. The waiter was kind enough to not charge us for the food--only for the drinks. Hopefully this was just a bad day for the kitchen staff and is not standard operating procedure. We will have to think twice about whether or not to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    262
    100
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield beach Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been coming to this place every time we are in the keys. Great view. If its not to hot sit outside. I am upset that they do not give out the pretzel bread anymore. We really liked that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, perfect views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Even on a damp grey evening you can sit on the outside covered terrace and take in the fantastic view over the Gulf. Really good varied menu, if a bit on the expensive side. Food was good and cocktails were excellent.
Evening spoiled by a very loud party of women who didn't seem to appreciate that not everyone in the restaurant wanted to hear their entire conversation, but that could happen anywhere.
Definitely recommend

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Possibly best burger ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for lunch. We both had the house burger. The menu mentioned bacon jam as an ingredient and it might have made this burger the best burger I've ever tasted. Pricing was moderate. We sat in the back and had an awesome view of the ocean/bay (I forget what that side of Largo is called.) Looking forward to going again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, mo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Key lime pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The food and service were excellent. The view is awesome! Get the key lime pie! Its the best at the keys!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundowners also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sundowners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundowners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.