We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight or if you have a boat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight or if you have a boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I must admit that we only used this as an overnight from Key West to get closer to Miami airport.
For this, it was great, we had free use of pedalo and kayaks if wanted, has a pool and some hammocks.
Restraint next door is friendly and you get 10% discount on food.
If you had a boat, I would imagine its a good base.
However, in our limited time there, we couldn't quite get to grips where Key Largo centre was, certainly no where near this hotels location.
Check in before 3pm is a no-go.
Breakfast simple but OK.

Room Tip: All rooms from what I could see have a similar aspect and decent view. Location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    168
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
97
446
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Was welcomed warmly on our arrival. We stayed in the lodge in a king size bed. Hotel room is clean rooms are attractive and a perk is having breakfast in the morning. The restaurant next-door, snappers, is always a favorite of ours. So nice having it so close. The grounds here are beautiful and right on the water. Pool is also a plus!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at Dove Creek Lodge starting on June 15th for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time there. The resort is clean and quiet with covered parking. The staff is helpful and accommodating. We stayed in room #301 which is a king suite. We brought along our 16 year old, so this was a nice arrangement. We could close the door between the living area, where he slept on a comfortable pull out sofa, between the bedroom where we slept. The room was very clean, and I never heard a noise from the outside. It had a nice view of the property and ocean. It has a large screened in porch with 2 patio chairs, so you can sit outside without being bothered by pests.

The swimming pool/hot tub area was well-maintained clean. In fact, most times we were the only ones there. They provide beach towels. They also provide kayaks for guest use and we enjoyed paddling out to look around. There are Adirondack chairs, hammocks and a swing where you can sit an watch the sunset & stars or enjoy the live music from Snappers restaurant that is just across the water. We didn't use it, but observed other guests using an on sight grill to cook up their fresh catch of the day. The breakfast was tasty and beautifully displayed. It included: fresh fruit, fresh juices, cereals, key lime tarts, yogurt with fresh fruit, various breads and pastries, hard boiled eggs and a Keurig with various offerings of hot drinks. The dining area was never crowded.

The resort is waterfront with a pretty ocean view, but it is not on beachfront. We went to John Pennecamp State Park (just up the road) or Sombrero Beach (on Marathon) for our beach time. There is wi-fi throughout property but it seemed a little spotty on my device (I don't think my husband and son had as much difficulty). Snappers restaurant, adjacent to the resort property, was tasty and convenient for a dinner on the water.

We will definitely stay again when we are down in the Keys!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Would recommend to anyone. Very nice and tranquil. The only reason I rated 4 stars was due to very limited breakfast and no laundry area for vacationers on the premises. Other than that every thing was great. Loved snappers being next door as well.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I don't usually write reviews but this lodge is truly wonderful. We have just returned from a two night stay and it was great. Lovely sea view from our room and a little bit of paradise, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 204 is the one we had and only one room next to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here this last week for 4 nights on our first trip to the Keys (we have recently moved to Florida). The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds are nice, they have hammocks and a chair type swing. We chose a king balcony room(balcony could barely fit the 2 chairs and table) that had a view of the marina and the bar at Snappers. Since Snappers is right next door to the hotel we were able to listen to the live music every night.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars is no fault of the hotel. When we arrived and opened up the balcony door there was decaying seaweed up against the dock right in front of our room and it smelled horrible, like rotten eggs! However, it rained the next 2 days and the smell wasn't noticeable after that.

Room Tip: The room next to us was a queen balcony and their balcony was a LOT bigger than the king balcony. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The upgraded our room for no charge. The room was clean and very nice. We took advantage of the kayak the pool hot tub and the hammock. It was so nice on our way back from key largo we stopped back by and ate at snappers and rented a pontoon next store. This was one of our favorite places in the keys. Highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 17 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#3 of 4 in Tavernier
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#9 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.