We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night but wish we had booked several more! The location is beautiful. Our room overlooking the tropical garden was to a high standard and very comfortable. Lovely pool. Kayaks and paddleboats were also available for guests to use.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    127
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
83
353
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay at the Dove Creek Lodge for our wedding anniversary. We were there when the pool was being re-surfaced, but were happy that we got a 30% discount because of the inconvience. The pool construction was ending the day we were leaving, but it looked really nice!
The rooms were very clean, flat screen TV's, small refrigerator in the room too.
The staff was very nice. The light breakfast was delicious.
Enjoyed the food at Snappers, an eating establishment in a short walking distance. Enjoyed their music at night. (which ends at 10 p.m.)
Hope to be able to stay at this location again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just spent one night here at the Dove Creek Lodge and wished we could have stayed longer. It is in a beautiful setting right on the water. I would say its definitely worth it to book a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. It was so relaxing to sit and look out over the palm trees and water in the morning. I wish we could have stayed longer! We also took advantage of the complimentary kayaks and had a great time exploring the mangroves and the ocean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the property is very well maintained. Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious and very clean. I highly recommend the Dove Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our original plan was to spend 2 nights here, then find another place for a few nights before going back to Orlando for a flight out. Instead, we spent 5 nights here, and hated to leave!

From the moment Annie, Paul and Jane greeted us, we felt like we were among friends. We booked a king suite overlooking the ocean. Wonderful accommodations, two flat-screen TVs, small fridge, desk in the bedroom. Unique continental breakfast (key lime tarts, fruit kabobs, yogurt and fruit, pastries). Small marina with kayaks, paddle boats. Covered parking too.

This is a 20-something unit boutique hotel, so don't expect all kinds of posh service -- just peace and quiet, and friendly, sweet staff.

All just steps from a lovely little pool with great landscaping, gazebo to provide shade for a swinging chair, a few hammocks in the sand and under the palms. We happily spent a full afternoon lounging in the sun and enjoying the pool.

The hotel is across a tiny bay from Snappers with live entertainment; we brought out our wine and listened to their talented guitarist/vocalist from the hammocks. Wonderful!

Heard a few guests grousing about not being able to see the ocean; Paul was taking care of that the day we left: walking out of each room to see exactly what his guests did; had all the trees trimmed to take advantage of the view.

That's the attention to detail that is the hallmark of Dove Creek!

Room Tip: The king suites with the screened-in porches are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Everything you are looking for in a resort. Stumbled upon this place and what a find it was. Beautiful surroundings, kayaks, pool, comfortable bed and facilities. Great value and great resort! Looking for a place in Key Largo, I would definitely recommend Dove Creek!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a real find during our trip to the keys, everything you could want from a small resort, the rooms are huge, clan and well laid out, and the sunsets across the small harbour are fantastic..and well worth visiting the on site restaurant and bar...great views, a real find
staff very friendly and great buffet breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My fiancee and I went to Key Largo for the weekend and chose to stay at the dove Creek Lodge. What a great decision!

This boutique hotel is a real treat. The staff is friendly and welcoming, the beds are perfect, and the grounds are amazing. What a beautiful location.

On Friday, after dinner, we spent the evening in a hammock and listened to the music from the bar across the cove. They even arrange to shut down the music at 10:00, though we wish it lasted longer.

They have kayaks just waiting for guests to use and bikes available to cruise the key.

Even the other guests were friendly and easy to get along with

Dove Creek is perfect for couples, young and old. You can believe we will be back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, though you may want to ask to avoid those near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.