We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our absolute favorite!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Granite Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our absolute favorite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family took an extensive road trip in June 2013. We stayed at Dove Creek Lodge for one night and it quickly became our favorite. This place is AWESOME! The rooms are clean, updated and they pay attentions to details. There is a screened porch for each room. There is free access to the lodge's paddle boats and water bike. It was a blast paddling around in the little area by the hotel. There are swings, hammocks and chairs to enjoy the absolutely blissful; atmosphere. We enjoyed the live music from across the small bay while kicking back in one of their swings. We enjoyed the sunset from one of their chairs overlooking the bay. The pool is nice, clean and warm. The hot tub was wonderful. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful because they offered unique items such as homemade yogurt and fruit cups, and a homemade Key lime confection as well. This hotel is well worth staying at if you are in Key Largo - highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    136
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
91
376
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I was just there for a short stay, our room was up graded to a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was very clean and comfortable. We were able to check in earlier and Brianna was a sweetheart, I called to see if our room was ready and she took the time to check and when we got there she knew who we were and greeted us with a smile and walked us to our room. The pool was clean and refreshing, the beach is nice for sunning, you can't go swimming in the ocean but they do have boats that you can use in the cove, and hammocks to swing in. The Snapper restaurant is right next door and you can hear the music playing while your playing in the pool. We are already planning our next trip there and hopefully we will be able to bring more people with us so that they can experience the fun also. The continental breakfast was perfect to start your day and the coffee was great! You can sit on the balcony and look out at the ocean. Definitely worth the trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only had a couple of days to see the Keys so we decided on Key Largo. Not impressed as we drove along Overseas Highway and wished we'd made time to go further down. Anyway, the location of Dove Creek Lodge changed that. It's in a lovely cove fringed with Mangroves and feels very tranquil and natural. The hotel itself had a motel feel - it wasn't an attractive building with all the water pipes etc. visible outside the building. The screened outdoor areas for each room were also unattractive and was like sitting in a cage. I suppose it's better than sitting by the pool getting eaten by mosquitoes (which we were). The pool area was really quiet - we loved the hammocks and resident iguanas. We used the canoes to paddle through the mangroves - this was a highlight of our holiday. Saw lots of fish and turtles. Highlight of the room was the bed - massive and very comfy. The breakfast was lovely and very well presented - could use some more seating though (just a couple of tables in the foyer). The staff were not particularly friendly - they seemed a bit bored. We ate both nights at Snappers next door - food was fantastic but pricey. Great waiter named Mike too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed one night at this lodge on our way back from the keys. It was peaceful with nice clean room and beautiful bay views.
There were free kayaks or paddle boats to take out for registered guests free of charge. There is a small pool and hot tub but we did not use them. There is a small area with 2 hammocks and a large glider/swing that 2 adults are in. We sat there in the late afternoon. It was very relaxing.
They have a very nice free continental breakfast. The food was bagels, croissants, granola, coffee, tea and milk. Also extra treats were a graham cracker dessert with caramel and also dessert cups w/ key lime tart or berries and yogurt. There was also fresh fruit that morning. And a nice view of the water.
The hotel lobby is open 7a-7pm only. There is a restaurant on property too closeby that was good. A very relaxing stay here for one night on our way back to Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in mid-April. The room was quite big: a bedroom, a living room and a nice screened porch with a view on the harbor. It was quite expensive ($169 plus taxes, for a total of $190), but that seems to be the case in the Keys. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with a number of fresh pastries, fruit and a key lime pie-like pudding. Slightly musty smell in the room. Quiet. We would return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very romantic setting on the ocean.They have done a great job with the tropical landscaping. Tiki torches burn throughout the night around the pool and grounds.Very comfortable rooms.Ours had a small living room as well as a screened porch.Very good continental breakfast to enjoy while watching the ocean.We have stayed here several times and the staff has always been extra nice and the rooms clean and ready on time.Next door to Snappers restaurant with great food and a bar on the water.Very quiet and romantic getaway

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited Disney World Dolphin and our MIL in Sarasota right before visiting here, and this felt like cool water in the hot desert after that. All service was very friendly and relaxed, and we had no problems. Key Largo has a gentle ocean breeze which makes sitting out on one of the hammocks or in the comfy chairs very pleasant, which is not possible in most of the rest of Florida due to the sweltering heat. The lanais are insurance against insects (not screened-in cages, as some reviewer from Europe wrote) and are pleasant patios on the balcony for meals or drinks anytime with a view of the palms swaying near the water. They are enclosed so we could leave our snorkel gear out there to dry anytime. The breakfasts were substantial and included lovely key lime tarts, elegant fresh fruit skewers, bagels, cheese, etc. The ice machine worked fine. The bed was easily the most comfy I've found in any hotel - we even checked the tag to see if it is a brand we might want to buy for home. The blue-striped pool towels were soft (softer than the room towels). The place was a treat after a busy day exploring the Keys and snorkeling. The only things to watch for: The water isn't really that nice here; there are lots of beaches nearby for that. Snapper's next door is convenient but so-so. We had good conch fritters and so-so key lime pie, and the rest is quite ordinary with so-so service. People smoke outside a lot in the Keys, which is gross, but the breeze helps a lot. Mrs. Mac's is the place for key lime pie. We strongly recommend reservations for everything - we went June 17-18, which is a busier time here. I would love to come back and visit Dove Creek again someday - we live in Oregon so that will not happen often, sadly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite in #303, which was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.