We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and breakfast, a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view and breakfast, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in mid-April. The room was quite big: a bedroom, a living room and a nice screened porch with a view on the harbor. It was quite expensive ($169 plus taxes, for a total of $190), but that seems to be the case in the Keys. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with a number of fresh pastries, fruit and a key lime pie-like pudding. Slightly musty smell in the room. Quiet. We would return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    142
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
94
384
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very romantic setting on the ocean.They have done a great job with the tropical landscaping. Tiki torches burn throughout the night around the pool and grounds.Very comfortable rooms.Ours had a small living room as well as a screened porch.Very good continental breakfast to enjoy while watching the ocean.We have stayed here several times and the staff has always been extra nice and the rooms clean and ready on time.Next door to Snappers restaurant with great food and a bar on the water.Very quiet and romantic getaway

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited Disney World Dolphin and our MIL in Sarasota right before visiting here, and this felt like cool water in the hot desert after that. All service was very friendly and relaxed, and we had no problems. Key Largo has a gentle ocean breeze which makes sitting out on one of the hammocks or in the comfy chairs very pleasant, which is not possible in most of the rest of Florida due to the sweltering heat. The lanais are insurance against insects (not screened-in cages, as some reviewer from Europe wrote) and are pleasant patios on the balcony for meals or drinks anytime with a view of the palms swaying near the water. They are enclosed so we could leave our snorkel gear out there to dry anytime. The breakfasts were substantial and included lovely key lime tarts, elegant fresh fruit skewers, bagels, cheese, etc. The ice machine worked fine. The bed was easily the most comfy I've found in any hotel - we even checked the tag to see if it is a brand we might want to buy for home. The blue-striped pool towels were soft (softer than the room towels). The place was a treat after a busy day exploring the Keys and snorkeling. The only things to watch for: The water isn't really that nice here; there are lots of beaches nearby for that. Snapper's next door is convenient but so-so. We had good conch fritters and so-so key lime pie, and the rest is quite ordinary with so-so service. People smoke outside a lot in the Keys, which is gross, but the breeze helps a lot. Mrs. Mac's is the place for key lime pie. We strongly recommend reservations for everything - we went June 17-18, which is a busier time here. I would love to come back and visit Dove Creek again someday - we live in Oregon so that will not happen often, sadly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite in #303, which was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stopped at Dove Creek for two days and had a great time with the pool, kayaks, paddle boats, and the view from our room. Breakfast was filling with hard boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, muffins, and a kind of antipasto that was a good contrast to the sweetness of the other offerings. You are right next door to the restaurant Snappers, where we had a decent meal while sitting at one bar before heading to the more raucous Turtle Club on the water. Had no problems with noisy air conditioners or anything else. Water pressure on the shower was a little low, but not a deal breaker.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay at the end of May. This was the final stop on our two week trip and was a real disappointment. Whilst the cove setting is pretty the lodge was poor for the price paid. It cost more per night than the Waldorf Astoria no less!

Our room was billed as ocean view and did have a nice view but no balcony just a netted patio. Walking past the rooms felt like walking past zoo cages! We were also placed at the end of the block next to an extremely noisy air conditioning unit so the patio was unusable. We were told that they would be full the following day so we couldn't move rooms. Also when I threw back our curtains each morning a very poorly placed housekeepers cart was right in the middle of our view despite there being plenty of other areas to place it. Not thoughtfull! On our departure morning the housekeeper hovered looking into our room constantly waiting for us to leave hours before checkout time.

Our wi fi didn't work the whole time and we were told they didn't have anyone else having problems one minute to being told there were four rooms they were waiting for an engineer to fix the next and given it was Memorial Day weekend (we stayed Thursday Friday) we wouldn't get it fixed so we traipsed to the lobby to do our on line check in for our flight after we discovered it worked there- they forgot to mention this when we told them we had no wifi on our first day. The girl really couldnt care less

The fridge in our room was thick with frost and whilst there is a microwave there are no plates or cutlery and only 2 cups. The bed was comfortable and the room clean enough. The biggest challenge in the room was that the only mirror is the bathroom mirror so getting ready for an evening out was hard work. There should be a mirror in the bedroom at the very least.

The pool and grounds are nice but the pool was dirty and only a few sun loungers plus who would pick metal loungers for a poolside in the hot sunny Keys! Watch out they can burn getting on and off.

On departure as we had pre paid they weren't interested and I couldn't be bothered due to the lack of caring shown on check in and dealing with our wifi issues. I wouldn't stay again or recommend it unless you have a boat you need to dock and can't find anywhere else. The only saving grace for this stay was the location close to John Pennecamp park and Snappers next door which was a joy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Dove Creek this weekend. We had a small issue arise at check-in but they immediately took care of it, and, no joke, the GM took the time to meet us in person at the Dolphins Plus facility (where we had told her we'd be) to make sure the problem had been solved and we were satisfied. Of course, we were.

The king suite w/ ocean view is huge, with a separate bedroom, large living room w/ pull-out couch, and a separate large kitchen. The resort has a perfect size pool on the ocean side, hot tub, and free kayaks, paddle boats, etc., in the marina next to the pool and hammock area. The resort is close to Dolphins Plus and John Pennekamp Park, which is why we were visiting Key Largo w/ the kids for Father's Day weekend.

I think this is the first review I've ever taken the time to write a review for a hotel and it's mainly because the staff and GM in particular were so great. We'll be back in August for our last weekend getaway of the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 5 days on a dive trip to Key Largo with a teen and had a wonderful stay at this property. Room was clean, bed comfortable and provided just the right amount of amenities. Good linens and towels, Tommy Bahama bath products. Nice screened sitting area. Free WiFi and continental breakfast are nice.
The common grounds are very well kept. Nice pool and marina areas.
There is not quite enough covered parking for all guests and the lobby is only open 7am-7pm. If you are arriving later than 7pm they will arrange for your room keys to be available.
The nearby restaurant is only average for food, but there is often good live entertainment.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.