We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mini Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a little mini vacation to Key West and wanted to stay in Key Largo for a night. What a pleasant surprise we had staying at the Dove Creek Lodge. Friendly staff and clean, good size rooms. The continental breakfast was especially wonderful.
Snappers Restaurant was right next to the Lodge and was always hopping. We were content to stay right there and not travel on, but Key West did await:)

Thank You to all who made it a so nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    136
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
91
376
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Trip Advisor came through again! We were searching for a nice place to stay on our 2 and a half days in the upper Keys. We were looking for an affordable but NICE place and Dove Creek Lodge hit the nail on the head! Peaceful and serene...one block off of Rte 1 and you'd think you were miles from the traffic.
The rooms was great...though next time I'd opt for the one with the screened porch...I was jealous of those who had them!
The grounds and the pool were lovely, we kayaked around the coves and swam.
The breakfast were perfect, yogurt parfaits, fresh fruit kabobs, bagels, pastry and some
eggs and cheeses for some heartier fare...enough to get you going!
We will definitely recommend to anyone travelling to the Keys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow Lake, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location and perfect place to stay to explore the area. Weather was unseasonably cool, but we still had a great time. Everyone at the Lodge was extremely helpful...we can't say enough good about this place! Had a great, relaxing time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My family and I visited dove creek lodge and loved the resort. Our suite was a great setup and it was nicely done. We loved the restaurant on site with bands on some nights that we could just sit outside and listen to.
The breakfast was great. Really fresh and different.
Our location in Key Largo was good and we went to many different restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice view of the water and of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent two nights here and we both feel we found a winner. It's small, quiet, comfortable, and has a beautiful view. Our queen room with balcony offered us a perfect place to unwind. Helpful staff steered us to two good nearby restaurants. If you're looking for a friendly non-chain experience, please consider this charming waterfront inn.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas after I had read positive reviews online and decided to book. So glad that I did. The rooms are lovely, separate bedroom and living area, done up in the "key west" style. Large bathroom, mini refrigerator and screened in sitting area outside. They have a very nice heated pool and a jacuzzi. Although the hotel seemed full, we had the jacuzzi to ourselves at night and sat out there each night with a water bottle (of rum and ginger beer ;-)) and listened to the music from the restaurant next door. They have a cute little "beach" area with hammocks and free kayaks. Each morning, they have a continental breakfast, included with your room cost, that was also very good. Although not a big fan of Key Largo in general, it seems very run down, we loved this place and are likely to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you have every been to Key Largo, then would know that it is one highway, with some motels, and basic restaurants. This is not a majestic place, but an area to do some diving. not for fine dining or accommodations. When I found the Dove Creek lodge I felt like I found a little piece of paradise, a diamond in the rough. Their landscaping was beautiful, a boutique style hotel situated off the main highway, along the ocean. Our room had an ocean view, the decor was cheery, using the warm tones of light yellow, peach, and greens. The pool came alive at night, when it was lit up by torches. They had a dock with kayacks, so my husband and I went kayacking into the calm ocean water. You will also find hammocks to lounge in, while basking in the sun. Their breakfast was included with their nightly rate. It was good, and they were very on time, which was extremely appreciated since we had leave by 7:45 am for the snorkeling tour. The breakfast room was nice, slide the glass doors open, to sit out on the large porch, with tables, to view the sunrise, over the ocean while eating your breakfast. The only thing I would change, which I mentioned to the front desk is, to have the pool towels located at the pool, not at the front desk. This is not convenient for hotel guests ,since they have to walk all the way across the hotel complex,up the stairs, to the front desk, for a pool towel, while in a bathing suit! I would have brought my own towel ,however, their sign clearly states, no person towels at pool side. All other hotels, of this caliber, have the pool towels located, at their pool side, where they clearly belong.

Room Tip: Top floor closet to the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.