We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you have every been to Key Largo, then would know that it is one highway, with some motels, and basic restaurants. This is not a majestic place, but an area to do some diving. not for fine dining or accommodations. When I found the Dove Creek lodge I felt like I found a little piece of paradise, a diamond in the rough. Their landscaping was beautiful, a boutique style hotel situated off the main highway, along the ocean. Our room had an ocean view, the decor was cheery, using the warm tones of light yellow, peach, and greens. The pool came alive at night, when it was lit up by torches. They had a dock with kayacks, so my husband and I went kayacking into the calm ocean water. You will also find hammocks to lounge in, while basking in the sun. Their breakfast was included with their nightly rate. It was good, and they were very on time, which was extremely appreciated since we had leave by 7:45 am for the snorkeling tour. The breakfast room was nice, slide the glass doors open, to sit out on the large porch, with tables, to view the sunrise, over the ocean while eating your breakfast. The only thing I would change, which I mentioned to the front desk is, to have the pool towels located at the pool, not at the front desk. This is not convenient for hotel guests ,since they have to walk all the way across the hotel complex,up the stairs, to the front desk, for a pool towel, while in a bathing suit! I would have brought my own towel ,however, their sign clearly states, no person towels at pool side. All other hotels, of this caliber, have the pool towels located, at their pool side, where they clearly belong.

Room Tip: Top floor closet to the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    128
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
85
355
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We landed in Fort Lauderdale and were planning on driving down to Key West planning a stay at Key Largo, Islamarada and Key West. We arrived at Dove Creek and were a bit apprehensive when we turned the corner but then we arrived and we were pleasantly surprised. We pulled into the great parking area under the hotel (shady/roomy) and made our way to the front desk. The lady there was very pleasant and bought us to our room which was on the third level. The room was beautiful, clean and had a great view. We bought in our suitcases and went down to inspect the grounds. The sitting area with hammocks and chairs was great, there was even shade (for me NOT a sun worshipper) where we enjoyed a beautiful ocean breeze and sunset. Not a ton of people, quiet, peaceful and relaxing. We then went next door and had a great dinner. All in all a great experience. We stayed at a couple more places and even a more upscale place in Key West but none compared to Dove Creek. We even stopped to have lunch on the way back and walk back over for a few minutes. We are already planning our next trip there for a few days (forget the rest of the keys!). It was one of the best hotel/resort experiences I have ever had. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet, relaxing and clean place there is no better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Off the beaten path resort. Hammocks in the sand, nice pool, restaurant right next store with live music and entertainment. We stayed here our last night and wish we would have stayed there the whole time during our stay in the Keys. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with that Tommy Bahama feel. Thanks Deb and Jane for the great breakfast and scrumptious Key Lime tarts. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Dove Creek was a nice resort with a great location. Plenty to do for families with a very good restaurant next door.
I would stay there again.
Breakfast each morning was very good with plenty to eat and a good variety.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over our anniversary weekend and it was great. Continental breakfast/dessert each morning with key lime tarts that were awesome. Good views with a sandy hammock area. Quiet and low key, but live music at the bar across the marina in the evenings which was a good way to end the day.

Clean well kept rooms. Good service. Easy check in/check out.

No complaints, we will stay again if/when come back through the keys.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place was Great! Nice views of the Atlantic from our room patio.Very Clean and the hospitality was awesome! Nice spot, better than the 5 star resort we stayed at on Marco Island beach. Very Keysie! We will be back next year for a whole week instead of 3 days. Thanks again to the Great hosts!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and i stayed at dove creek on a stop over to keywest. We were very impressed with our room--it was a suite. Very clean, 2 flatscreen tv a lani good free breakfast. The grounds are gorgeous! Staff is very friendly. This is a very good choice. You will not be disappointed. I am usually fussy

Room Tip: They have some rooms that face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.