We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dove creek is a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Home
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dove creek is a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and i stayed at dove creek on a stop over to keywest. We were very impressed with our room--it was a suite. Very clean, 2 flatscreen tv a lani good free breakfast. The grounds are gorgeous! Staff is very friendly. This is a very good choice. You will not be disappointed. I am usually fussy

Room Tip: They have some rooms that face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    127
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
83
353
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint John, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our stay was very nice. The hotel is very cozy with a real feel for the keys in a very tropical setting. The continental breakfast is the best unlike any I every had with tropical fruit skewers and greek yogurt with fresh fruit and never mind the home made key lime tarts. wow! I loved it. Debbie and Janet are very nice hotel managers. They made our stay very nice. A very friendly place to stay. Thank you Debbie and Janet for making our stay very enjoyable. I will be back again. Lorraine and Jim Barry

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just got back from Florida and enjoyed our stay - perfect for the R&R we had in mind! Large rooms, clean, and right on the ocean. We enjoyed taking the complimentary use of kayaks and sitting Oceanside for hours. There were plenty of places to sit or recline - in the shade or sun (nice for those who don't want to burn). Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was perfect for us - granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread items - wouldn't thrill kids (no sugary cereals) or those who want a more substantial warm bfast. We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

You won't go wrong with this place. Property is well maintained and clean. Debbie at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Pool and jacuzzi were clean and well kept. There is a nice little beach type area with hammocks and lounge chairs which was relaxing. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

There are no hotel bargains in the Keys. We researched 10 recommended properties having rooms in the $225 - 245 range and stayed at 3 of them. We stayed for 2 nights at Dove Creek Lodge in order to snorkel/dive at John Pennekamp Park, which is the only reason to visit Key Largo. DCL is a little under 15 minutes drive away from the park. DCL is not within walking distance of anything other than what is in its own little bay, but that includes a pretty good restaurant (Snappers), a marina, a SeaDoo rental kiosk, free kayaks, and a nice swimming pool area. Our room was a suite: living room with kitchenette counter (microwave, bar fridge, but no sink), bedroom with king bed, storage closet with safe, screened-in porch area facing the marina. The rooms were nice, but the workmanship was sloppy: countertop didn't fit the counter, kitchenette not level so open drawers hit each other, shower tile grouting uneven and poorly applied. Also, while the rooms were generally clean, there were some glaring exceptions: big, sticky stain on the living room sofa; big stain on the bedroom carpet. However, these are things that might bother you if you were staying longer than a couple of nights.

The complementary breakfast was good (fruit, yoghurt, breads, cereals, coffee), with particular kudos to the key lime parfait, so popular that they have the recipe printed on cards ready for you to take away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My dh and I spent a wonderful long weekend at the DCL from Jan 18-20, '13. We were looking for something different than your typical Marriott, Hilton, etc. and we found the DCL to be the most charming, wonderful, keys hotel. With only 20 rooms, this is really like a BIG bed & breakfast. The check-in experience was friendly and laid-back (thank you to Debbie). We had a simple, standard room with a king bed, and it was perfect for our weekend. I think every room has an ocean view. There was a previous review on here about bed bugs, and can't believe that to be true after staying there, I don't know where those people were, but our room was immaculate, clean, and bug-free, as was the entire hotel. The bathroom had great Tommy Bahama shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, etc. Breakfast each morning reminded me of a charming b&b, with fruit skewers, antipasto salad, yogurt parfaits, coffee cake, bagels, etc...and a Keurig machine set-up. The breakfast area opened up to a ocean-view balcony with tables and chairs. Guests with bigger rooms, and their own blacony brought their plates to their rooms, but we enjoyed sitting out on the communal balcony. The pool was wonderful and clean, heated (which we needed for the "cold" weekend) and I think it was salt-water. The hot tub was chlorinated and nice and warm after day trips throughout the Keys. We seemed to be the only ones to take advantage of the free kayaks, it was so fun. We are hooked on the DCL, and can't wait to go back. :)

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms immediately adjacent to the lobby. Noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge for one night with my wife and another couple on our way to Key West. The hotel was clean, right on the water with a great view and is pretty well kept up. The have a great free continental breakfast (I'm not a continental breakfast guy, but liked this one) and offered free use of kayaks which we took advantage of and enjoyed. The only downside for me was the bed, which I wasn't a big fan of. I found it pretty firm and uncomfortable. Otherwise a good place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.