We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husbands stay at dove creek lodge was wonderful. Debbie at the fronk desk was very nice and accommodating! She stayed late for us on Christmas Eve cause we were running late and needed to pay cash. Our room was a one bedroom suite and it was very clean and nice. They have kayaks for you to use for free and hammocks to lay in. The pool and hot tub were very nice and we were the only ones in them so it was very private. Would definitely come back again !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    132
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
88
360
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I wanted someplace reasonably priced to stay as a pit stop to Key West for our honeymoon, so we came across this place on the AAA website. This hotel is hidden away, feels like in the middle of nowhere and we did not know what to expect. As soon as we came in, Brianna greeted us with a smile. We got a complimentary upgrade for our room and were floored when she escorted us to our room and showed us exactly where to park. She was very friendly and informative. The room is incredible, very clean and spacious even had a netted porch where you could sit outside your room without being annoyed by bugs. We wish we stayed longer. This is indeed a hidden gem and we would definitely stay here again!

Tip: The elevator & room set up is a little confusing. Both 2nd & 3rd floor rooms are on floor 2 of the elevator and 4th floor is on floor 3. Keep that in mind if you have a top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, if available the views are incredible from here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

we found this delightful facility on line and loved it! The 1 bedroom suite was great, the breakfasts were wonderful and the staff very efficient and friendly. If someone wrote anything negative about this facility they must have been in the wrong spot!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

On our week-long vacation to Miami/Key Largo/Key West, this was by far the best place we stayed at. The suite was clean, comfortable, and we enjoyed the attached screened porch. The bed was comfortable, the decor pleasant, and the continental breakfast was fresh and filling. The pool water temperature could have been warmer, but there was a hot tub that we used instead. The restaurant next door was convenient with good food. However, the live music could be disruptive if you are a light sleeper. We closed the bedroom door and were able to sleep soundly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful place and by far the best on our trip! A beautiful pool area and sand "beach" with hammocks, and soft chairs. (It's not a beach really since it's facing a small pier and not the seaside.)

Our kid had a great time in the sand, the pool and the garden, and we loved the relaxation. Not too many families around, quite calm and relaxed place.

For a beach one can drive to the island plantation and turn right at Dairy Queen. Nice beach with playground for children.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge for two nights on the way to Key West. We found the property and staff charming and helpful. Compared to Key West, Key Largo and the Dove Creek was very relaxed and peaceful.
We enjoyed dinner at the On-site restaurant both nights and were very pleased with the experience. There was even live music one evening.
The room with a private screened in porch was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again as well as recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels have a nice view of the water and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,516 reviews 1,516 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 303 cities Reviews in 303 cities
784 helpful votes 784 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Tip
- wake up early, around 7, and have the breakfast in the lobby balcony. You can enjoy the sunrise and watch the birds catching fish 
- breakfast: try the key lime pie parfait. It's delicious.

Pros
- peaceful location and convenient to drive around
- great breakfast 
- helpful and efficient staff
- beautiful decor
- very clean
- good value for money

This is a great property. It's completely different from the regular choice hotels.
I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;