We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

On our week-long vacation to Miami/Key Largo/Key West, this was by far the best place we stayed at. The suite was clean, comfortable, and we enjoyed the attached screened porch. The bed was comfortable, the decor pleasant, and the continental breakfast was fresh and filling. The pool water temperature could have been warmer, but there was a hot tub that we used instead. The restaurant next door was convenient with good food. However, the live music could be disruptive if you are a light sleeper. We closed the bedroom door and were able to sleep soundly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    129
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
87
356
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful place and by far the best on our trip! A beautiful pool area and sand "beach" with hammocks, and soft chairs. (It's not a beach really since it's facing a small pier and not the seaside.)

Our kid had a great time in the sand, the pool and the garden, and we loved the relaxation. Not too many families around, quite calm and relaxed place.

For a beach one can drive to the island plantation and turn right at Dairy Queen. Nice beach with playground for children.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge for two nights on the way to Key West. We found the property and staff charming and helpful. Compared to Key West, Key Largo and the Dove Creek was very relaxed and peaceful.
We enjoyed dinner at the On-site restaurant both nights and were very pleased with the experience. There was even live music one evening.
The room with a private screened in porch was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again as well as recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels have a nice view of the water and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,461 reviews 1,461 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 293 cities Reviews in 293 cities
767 helpful votes 767 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Tip
- wake up early, around 7, and have the breakfast in the lobby balcony. You can enjoy the sunrise and watch the birds catching fish 
- breakfast: try the key lime pie parfait. It's delicious.

Pros
- peaceful location and convenient to drive around
- great breakfast 
- helpful and efficient staff
- beautiful decor
- very clean
- good value for money

This is a great property. It's completely different from the regular choice hotels.
I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here on the way to Key West. It was ok as there is a waterside restaurant next door which was nice to sit and eat. We were next to the lift and breakfast room which was noisy. There was also music playing late from the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Stay away from reception, lift and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My boyfriend booked the Dove Creek Lodge in Key Largo for 1 night. We thought the place was “cute” until we woke up in the morning covered with bug bites. Normally we check the mattress for bedbugs whenever we check into a hotel but we had been driving all day and were exhausted so didn’t bother – Our mistake. Too late but we then checked the bed and yes, bugs is what we found.

At that point we couldn’t leave fast enough. Never coming back here again. Be warned!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esterlinej, General Manager at Dove Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
This is a completely FALSE statement. We do not have now, nor have ever had bad bugs. In fact, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and grounds. On November 1st, we just put new Tempurpedic Mattresses in all rooms on property. This is the first I am hearing of this accusation. I do not know when or if this occured in November, because we were never notified, but no other guest has ever made mention of this. For others reading this, please take their other postings into account as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Got this room for a night on hotwire while traveling thru the keys...wow!! What a surprise!! Wonderful suite (2 TV's)...great complimentary breakfast, and very nice restaurant next door with a discount coupon from Dove Creek!! Only thing that could be better is if we had stayed LONGER!!! Will come back to this place!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.