We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dove Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Got this room for a night on hotwire while traveling thru the keys...wow!! What a surprise!! Wonderful suite (2 TV's)...great complimentary breakfast, and very nice restaurant next door with a discount coupon from Dove Creek!! Only thing that could be better is if we had stayed LONGER!!! Will come back to this place!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    128
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
85
355
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Relaxing grounds, great suite perfect for our group of 6, loved the kayaks and paddle boards on the grounds! The breakfast was better than most continental breakfasts at other hotels and it was nice to have a restaurant to walk to in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights & it's gorgeous. Beautiful view's, nicely manicured grounds, very tranquil & relaxing. The breakfast is perfect & beyond my expectations. All the staff are friendly & helpful. We had dinner at the restaurant next door, Snapper's & it was great!
I would highly recommend it for a relaxing vacation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esterlinej, General Manager at Dove Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your recent compliments on our hotel. We take pride in the appearance of both our exterior grounds, as well as the rooms and suites themselves. Please stop by and stay with us again, if you are ever in Key Largo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I had the best stay at Dove Creek. Staff was excellent and helpful with any questions we had. We both loved it! The room/suite was spacious, clean and beautiful. The continental breakfast went above and beyond. The grounds are quaint where you could sit by yourself or join people by the pool and/or hot tub. We are already thinking about when we are going back to stay. They did a fantastic job and it was one of the best places we've stayed. Hope to see you soon Debbie!! Sincerely Jeff & Lisa Snyder

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just got home from our Florida vacation and MUST say that we just loved this place. The serenity is prIceless, the rooms are GORGEOUS and VERY modern and updated. The saltwater pool area is kept very clean and has awesome "beachy" music playing at all times. Delicious continental breakfast, (wonderful yogurt/key lime) parfaits homemade each morning, and the staff was very helpful and pleasant..but why wouldn't they be when they live in such a beautiful place and environment? Sunrises to die for every morning from the balcony are enough to stay here, and the restaurant next door and the white sand beach area are fantastic additions. We absolutely suggest that anyone wanting some R & R or some couples re-connection time stay here...It gets our highest rating!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here en-route to Key West whilst travelling through the Keys in August.

To be honest, the local restaurant was the main reason for staying here but we were more than happy to stay at this hotel as the other reviews were all good.

The room (with separate living room) was very big and extremely comfortable, if a little dated, but that didn't bother us at all.

The restaurant/bar next door (Snappers) had a good varied menu and the live band playing finished the evening off well.

Breakfast in the morning was buffet style but I will say it was one of the best I've ever had and as good as any I've had in a country bed and breakfast in England!

Room Tip: They all looked good to me. I would probably say just try not to be too close to the lifts although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed one night at Dove Creek and liked our room and the hotel very much. Room was attractive, good sized, very clean, nice big TV, windows opened out to let the ocean breeze help cool the room down. Bed was memory foam and super comfortable. Conveniently located next to Snapper's Restaurant. Loved the ocean view, nice pool, hammocks and comfy chairs to relax outside. The breakfast was perfect, beautifully presented granolas, hot cereal, cinnamon rolls, fruit, excellent coffee, yogurt, skewers of fresh fruit, also salami & mozzarella & olive skewers (different!) Best of all were the little key lime pies served in little glasses and glasses of yogurt, fruit, granola, very tasty and pretty. Staff was very friendly. We chose Dove Creek after reading reviews and glad we did. Would stay here again for sure on our way driving down the Keys.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dove C, General Manager at Dove Creek Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the review on our property. We did just recently put in new Memory Foam mattresses in all rooms and suites, and the feedback from our guests is wonderful.

Our breakfast is not the typical continental served in most hotels. Each morning we make our parfait's, fruit skewers, antipasti salad and key lime tarts. We change out our items seasonally, to use only the freshiest items available. Stop in this month and have pumpkin cheesecake and spice cake bites with dried cranberries and cream cheese.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.