We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot hot tub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rock Reef Resort to your Saves list
Rock Reef Resort
97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
worthing
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“hot hot tub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

We checked in here on a tour of the keys. Rock reef is on the first rock , key largo.
Checked in early which wasn't a problem. They were very helpful at the front desk and we were offered different types of rooms.
The room we took was nice, had fridge , tv , cooker. All the usual stuff and the shower was really powerful.
The grounds were beautiful, lots of lovely palms, a bonsai area, a seating area around the beachfront. We even glimpsed site of some playful dolphins. The short beach front is like all of the keys, not ideal for swimming but good enough to paddle and cool down.
The super hot hot tub was fantastic, really relaxing. there was wildlife around too, squirrels , lizards ,a parrot and others.
Food is easy to come by as there are many places to eat along u.s.1 . There are also many places near rock reef to pick up snacks and drinks.
All in all a genuinely relaxing, scenic and trouble-free place to stay.

  • Liked — sunsets
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    100
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
69
144
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

I booked this resort on a whim since I've always wanted to visit the Florida Keys. My five day/four night stay began at the tail end of Tropical Storm Fay, which only caused a minor damper on my vacation. Other than than and some noisy guests in the adjoining unit, I had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Rock Reef Resort. The staff are warm and hospitable. Given that a number of guests had cancelled due to the storm, I was given a complementary room upgrade to an efficiency. The room was clean and ample size with a smaller than average bathroom; although the shower was fairly roomy. In addition, I received some great recommendations to local restaurants, including a 10 percent discount. The storm understandably caused some minor damage and disruption to the resort grounds, which were cleaned up within a day. The beach area has several hammocks, which were great for reading and napping. Overall, it was a great value.

  • Liked — Friendly and affordable
  • Disliked — Small beach; noisy guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We have been visiting Rock Reef for six years now and we love it. The beach is perfect for little ones and the sunsets are beautiful from the dock. Many of the units have kitchens, so we usually settle in for the weekend and don't ever have to leave the resort. The kids play on the beach or fish off the dock. This is the perfect place to relax in the Keys with a minimal amount of travel time!

  • Liked — The beach and th hammocks!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

This is a very cute 50's/60's era resort. The room was perfectly sized for the three of us. We saved a ton of money being able to cook in our room. LOVED the hammocks and swimming around in the bay. The peddle boat was loads of fun (and a workout for the legs). We would be going back this year with friends if they had a room with 2 queen sized beds - alas, they do not.

  • Liked — the kitchen, the lagoon, location
  • Disliked — beds were too small
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Rock Reef Resort for two days in July.It was great. The two room unit, with kitchen, was spotless. The Ac kept us cool on some very warm days.The yard going down to the beach was a peaceful place for afternoon drinks and morning coffee. The location was a short drive to John Pennecamp State Park. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven East Sussex UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We came across Rock Reef Park whilst driving looking for a place to stay at the end of our vacation. The owners were very helpful and provided us with adequate accommodation for our party of nine. The apartments/rooms were very clean and tidy with plenty of towels and linen provided. The grounds were very tropical with some exotic wildlife. Our plan was to have a couple of days relaxing on the keys at the end of a 3 week vacation before flying back to the UK from Miami. Rock Reef Park certainly gave us this opportunity and was a world away from our very stressful lives back in the UK. The locality of Rock Reef Park was ideal for snorkelling, glass bottom boat tours, fishing, restaurants and shops. We were able to see the manatees at Rock Reef along with some interesting wildlife. We had searched numerous websites regarding accommodation at Key Largo but Rock Reef Park was never mentioned. We would certaninly recommend this resort and are planning on returning in the future.

  • Liked — Plenty of room and clean and tidy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We love the Rock Reef Resort. The staff is great. We stayed at the same cottage 3 different weekends, always clean. The staff is very accomodating.

The sunsets are beautiful, the tiki hut and sea wall are great for watching the water and the manatees that come up. The hammocks are so relaxing.

My kids love the beach area and fishing from the sea wall and docks.

Nice boat ramp and plenty of area to boat in the Gulf and a short boat trip to the Atlantic.

I can't say enough!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.