We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found Resort by Accident. THANK YOU !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rock Reef Resort to your Saves list
Rock Reef Resort
97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Found Resort by Accident. THANK YOU !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Was 10th wedding anniversary. We drive from Miami after 40 hours in travel from Asia to stay at famous Key Largo. In past anniversary, we have traveled to all Pacific Islands and South East Asia. We stay very good hotels in Dubai, Phuket, Fiji, Bali, Bora-Bora. This what we think of the Red Reef Resort. The Hilton Key Largo lose reservation that we paid on this site for a week, sold room to another. The impolite girl at desk of Hilton say go to the Marriott, HILTON GIRL --She make comment about us to next worker. Very POOR worker!! The Marriott has loud party and person vomiting in lobby. My wife say no. We required accommodations quick. No way, I not drive to Miami. The police officer who choose not wrote me speeding fine recommended Red Reef resort to wife. She not happy and the police officer looked sad on me. He wrote directions to Red Reef resort. He say "perfect for anniversary in Key largo". We drove. We found a quiet resort that was REALLY perfect. The staff, was very good people, always kind to help. We not speak good English and are very responsive to understand. We stayed a extra week, changed plane reservation not go to California - because so nice at Rock Reef Resort. If ever come to USA again, We not see other place in USA. We go here. Fish, Snorkel, Sun, Quiet, Peace, good walks, we fall in love again. I see wife first time again and we think hope pregnant. Wife and I read reviews here now after home, We found by accident - Diamond. Thank you Rock Reef Resort for best anniversary and wife, thanks Police officer for no fine paper and directions. And we not write review at Hilton. Poor Business, like Hilton daughter. BUT- Rock Reef BEST !!!!!! Thank YOU Rock Reef.

Room Tip: Tell people what want. Very professional. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    115
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
81
175
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights after reading reviews, and found it to be just as described. A little old-fashioned, but clean and comfortable rooms and a wonderful bayside waterfront. We stayed in a two bedroom unit facing the highway, but I never heard any traffic. And there is a nice bar/restaurant, Ballyhoo's, directly across the street. Fantastic food. As far as the hotel staff goes, Jamae was wonderful with the reservation and check in process, and also with recommending local places to eat. If you go with the understanding that this is not the Marriott or Hilton, you should have a pleasant time at the Rock Reef Resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20, upstairs, with 2 bedrooms. It faced Highway 1, but we never had a problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindamanagement, Owner at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. I really appreciate your feedback about not hearing the traffic as we have installed Hurricane type sound proof - noise resistant windows in those units. We are also installing this type of window in the remainder of the front facing rooms. Thanks again for staying at Rock Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I love this hotel. It provides free kayak, which usually cost much outside. I have much fun with their kayaks. The beach owned by the hotel is beautiful. The backyard of the hotel is really attractive. There are a lot of little animals in it. It is fun to watch them and just sleep in the hammock to relax. Not to mention the extradinary sunset. You don't have to crowd into lots of people to see it, you will have your own private place to see the sunset. When I watch the sunset, there are about six visitors there. It is quiet. Seldom hotels can provide such great beach with this price. As to its room, although it is not large, it is warm. I haven't seen bugs at all. The air-condition is efficient and quiet. Last but not least, the staff is so so nice. They help me a lot about the local transportation. I will definitely come back to stay here next time.

Room Tip: The room that is closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindamanagement, Owner at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your visit through the Keys! We appreciate your compliments on our property. We enjoyed having you with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Originally stayed here in 1983 and have been back 4 other times.. This time we actually spent most of the time at the resort and loved it. If you like 1950s old style Florida tourism this place is great....hammocks, beach, pier, tiki, iguanas, snorkeling, boating etc.......but if you are looking for high end resort stuff....,outdoor massage tables, golf and boutiques...go somewhere else. This is a good place to go to relax and yes you will find bugs and older rooms but if you go expecting that and just relax you'll have a good time. Definitely not for those who are expecting Marriot or Hilton though.

Room Tip: Stayed in the family suite that was like an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindamanagement, Owner at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Keys! We love to see familiar faces and having people come back over and over again. It reminds us why we love being a part of Rock Reef Resort, and we truly enjoy hearing stories from past visits. We do try every year to update and renovate needed areas of the property, and we try to maintain our “Keys” Charm. You are right, we are different than a chain resort, and we do not provide luxury extras. We try to provide a home away from home feeling, with a quiet family environment to unwind a bit, the beauty of nature and wildlife, and the relaxation experienced when you watch one of our amazing sunsets. We don’t normally have bugs in our rooms however if the door is inadvertently left open by someone-including housekeepers-they will come inside. Next trip if you have any problems;-please tell us–it will be rectified immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had to book this place last minute because our previous place we reserved (won't say the name but its a bird in Florida) had a large party gathering that overtook our entire beachfront area.

The staff was kind enough to let us check out the room first and give us a small discount. We were on our honeymoon and wanted it to be perfect.

We were able to get one of the cottages on the bay, the beachfront cabin. While it is not my idea of a "beachfront" place it served its purpose. I will discuss the room further down.

The area location was perfect! Close to many fine tiki bars, restaurants and grocery stores. The cottage we rented had a porch with a table, chairs and swing. We rented the kayaks and paddled around the lagoon. We fished off of the pier (and caught some fresh fish for the evening meal!), lounged in the hammocks, snorkeled, waded in the water complete with beverages in hand and saw beautiful sunsets!! Just a delightful place!!

The beach was much larger then what we came from. Large enough that someone had their sailboat beached and sailed daily while still giving all guests plenty of room to wade in the warm gulf waters. Other guests had things delivered right to the resort, like paddle boards and double kayaks.

My ONLY complaint was that we stayed in the beachfront/bayfront CABIN (not to be confused with the cottage). While the view was wonderful and the porch was great the room itself was VERY dark even with the shades opened and we kept finding large centipedes on our floor, in the bathroom and on the curtains. I'm not sure if this was a problem the entire resort has or if it was just our room. The beds and kitchen were all in one large room that had two double beds (which didn't bother us). We became friendly with the couple in the beachfront cottage and they were kind enough to let us see their room. DEFINITELY more "beach like" with many windows, brighter decor and a seperate room for the beds.

I would definitely stay here again however I would choose the beachfront cottage or a different room altogether.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindamanagement, Owner at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing Rock Reef Resort. The centipedes are Keys – wide problem. They live in mulch and are absolutely everywhere. However they can be and have been controlled. For some reason unknown to us our exterminator decided to stop treating the grounds for these critters. We learned about this thru your review. Thanks for bringing it to our attention – and yes, the pesky devils are once again being controlled. Sorry for the inconvenience. Thanks again for staying at Rock Reef. Congratulations to you and your husband!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had 5 adults in room #6. It was cozy, but comfortable and clean. We appreciated the kitchen, although it was small. The outdoor area was awesome...small beach, lounge chairs, paddleboat, two kayaks, hammocks, and picnic tables. We appreciated the laid back, family feel of this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The natural setting at Rock Reef makes a bit of "Old Florida" alive. Fruit trees, hammocks strung from palm trees and the best sandy beach on the bay all add to a perfect get-a-way. Try a cottage on the bay...There are only 2 so reserve well in advance. It is fun to snorkel off the beach seeing small fish and some sponges. The best snorkeling is thru the dive shops that take you out to the reef. You'll always return to fabulous Key Largo and Rock Reef Resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.