We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitive price, poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ed & Ellen's Lodgings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ed & Ellen's Lodgings to your Saves list
Ed & Ellen's Lodgings
103365 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
El Paso
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Competitive price, poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked this place mainly for its budget price. It is essentially a basement suite, it has a very noisy air conditioner (that we elected not to use - sweated it out instead), a television located next to the ceiling, no chairs to sit in (I don't count stools), and beds very poorly made. All in all, not very comfortable. I also found the manager fond of making inappropriate remarks at the client's expense - and that is not something I choose to pay for. A little respect and courtesy would have been nice. On the up side, it is a good location to John Pennekamp Park.

Room Tip: Consider paying a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
3
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an old. budget motel. Not near beach. Clean. Old linens, towels sheets etc.
Small bathroom with an ultra water saver shower head...
Road noise and very noisy air conditioner. Nice owner. Good location at the
start of the keys.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I debated how far from Key West to say, since I am not fond of bridges nor do I like paying outrageous prices for a room. Ed and Ellen's on Big Pine Key was the perfect solution. They have 2 identical duplexes on the same street. We stayed in the one furthest away from the road and it was quiet and relaxing.

We arrived on Thanksgiving day to find the Big Pine Key duplex situated in the Key Deer Preserve. The outside structure was typical of a stilt home and the interior was spacious, clean and comfortable. The views from the front and back deck are amazing, it was wonderful sitting on the back deck watching the sunrise and then watching the sunset from the front deck. We even had visitors one morning, Key Deer in the front yard, that was cool.

This is a very functional 2 bedroom unit with a full kitchen, televisions in the living room and both bedrooms, ceiling fans and great water pressure (a big surprise). I was a bit concerned about that since the duplex is not in town. Everything was provided: dinnerware, cookware, full fridge, stove w/ oven, microwave, toaster and coffee pot. Plenty of linens and comfy beds made this a great stay. The unit has A/C but we didn't need it since there was a wonderful breeze, we just kept the windows open.

When we come to the keys again, we WILL be staying at Ed and Ellen's Lodging on Big Pine Key.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Ed and Ellen were both great, they make you feel like your at home! Ed gave us good advice on the area and gave us some coupons. He is quite the character. The hotel was like a home away from home. Very clean. No complaints. Plan on staying again for our next visit to key largo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Room was quiet, had stove, microwave, sink and oven. Full size fridge, This was your basic room. Works well if you don't plan on spending much time in the room.The fridge was nice, Ed is character for sure. but a good guy. No pool, not close to beach, right off overseas hwy, look for the tall yellow sign. I would go back.

Room Tip: I would go for upstairs room. parking is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelle, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I thought Ed was a character, funny if you understood he's just messing around. He was very helpful with questions about things like where to eat. I was diving in the area on a Saturday and Sunday in Key Largo. He let me check in early ("I'm going to be up anyway") so I could get my stuff in the room instead of leaving it in the truck while I was out on the boat diving. He also let me check out late the next day so that I could come off the dive boat and get a shower before my 3 hour drive home. Very relaxed and informal.

The room itself was clean and smelled fine. The air was cold and the shower was hot. Bed and microwave were clean. No bugs. The place was a little hard to find because it is hidden from the road by trees and shrubs, etc. There are no frills like a pool or view.

If the hotel stay is actually a part of your trip that matters, then go elswhere. However, if youre just looking for a cheap and clean place to stay in an expensive area then give them a look.

Bottom line is that I would not bring my family here if we came down to Key Largo for a weekend. I would, however, crash here myself on a weekend dive trip if I was trying to save some of my money for other things.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Beds ok, wore out towels. No y-fi. The owner was quite a character with a sarcastic humor. We went on recommendations from another person touring Florida. Prob would not return. No pool, no beach acess
Nice kitchen sink
Very small bars of soap, most other items you must supply like a hair dryer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ed & Ellen's Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ed & Ellen's Lodgings

Address: 103365 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Largo Efficiencies have 300 square feet of space with two queen beds, table for four, TV, apartment size stove, fridge, AC, kitchenware, coffee maker with a gas grill and picnic table. Even though we are on the highway we are screened from view by extensive foliage of seagrape and pigeon plum trees. Big Pine Key Duplexes are off the beaten path in a rural subdivision overlooking Federal Key Deer Preserve Wetlands and Pine Channel to the west with a canal dockage in the back. These units are 800 square feet with two bedrooms, one bath, queen bed in each bedroom, and three single beds in the living room area made up like couches. Kitchen is complete with stove, fridge, kitchenware, coffee maker and gas grill on front deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ed & Ellen's Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ed & Ellen`s Lodgings Hotel Key Largo
Ed And Ellen`s Lodgings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ed & Ellen's Lodgings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.