We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seafarer Resort and Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seafarer Resort and Beach to your Saves list
Seafarer Resort and Beach
97684 Overseas Highway, MM 97.8 Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Hughesville, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly and accomodating staff. Room was comfortable and clean. The price was very reasonable and included free use of kayaks which was a bonus. The grounds were very cool with hammocks all around. Very relaxing and laid back. Just what the doctor ordered. I will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    73
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
41
109
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Seafarer for a few nights prior to heading to Key West. It is an absolute oasis and so beautiful. Cost was more than perfect and staff incredibly friendly and helpful!

We will be back!!!!

Geoff and Teresa Moore

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let me start by saying that the Seafarer is not a high dollar resort, so take what I'm writing in a fair way. If you want an (honest) 5 star hotel, pay for it.

THE GOOD
Managment is very polite. They make you feel welcome.
Housekeeping is great. The place is very clean.
The little ocean frontage is great.
New tile in the rooms. Also new paint.

THE BAD
The shower is 2'x2'. Meaning if you are big, you are not going to fit.
The buildings are 1960ish and even the fresh paint (appreciated) can't hide the fact that they are old...but not old enough to be charming.
The Internet doesn't work in many rooms. It does work fine down by the office.
The walls are thin and you will know when the neighbor is home.
The mattress gets a 5 out of 10. Not really bad, but not great.E

THE UGLY
The road noise in the rooms upfront. WOW! (We lived in NYC for 20 years, so we are no stranger to noise.) The road noise in units 10 and 12 is awful. Insist on a room between the office and the ocean. Much quieter. You will like it much more in the back.

To sum it up...the place is not "paradise" as some reviews suggest but it is worth considering. Look at the photos and keep in mind this is a $100 room, not a $200 room at one of the hotels down the road.


Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good to see that you enjoyed some aspects of our piece of paradise.

Studio 10 and Garden 12 are very popular units. Though they are closest to the road, they offer a great value. Guests like Studio 10 because it has a king bed and kitchen. Garden 12 is popular because it is one of our larger Garden Queen rooms.

Just this weekend, the guests in both units extended their stays and neither had concerns.

It is a matter of personal preference. The cottages and beach house will always be quieter and more expensive. If you are on a budget or just want to save a few dollars don’t hesitate to take advantage of the lower priced rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to do a bit of cooking and we needed a separate bedroom area for our son who was joining us for the weekend. Not easy to find at a reasonable price.
Seafarer fit the bill. Not fancy but just what we needed.
The staff took good care. We mentioned the dearth of pots and pans, and a new set was promptly brought.
We did not use the recreational facilities on this visit as we were too busy scuba diving, but on a return visit might like to use the available kayaks.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we travel as a couple, we prefer to find cozy romantic places to stay rather than big noisy hotels. We had a favorite in Key Largo, called Largo Lodge, but it is closed for renovations, so we tried Seafarer. It is a unique little property. It has a small private beach and many different kinds of rooms/cottages to choose from. We chose the one bedroom with a full kitchen right on the water. It was small, but just what we needed. Very clean. Good supply of dishes. They came mid-week to tidy up and give us clean towels. Otherwise, we had the room to ourselves. I would definitely stay again. It was reasonably priced, cheaper than the Holiday Inn. Staff was friendly. Sunsets on the bay are amazing! We had our own chairs and table on the patio -- to hang our dive gear out to dry, of course!

Two small complaints. The property has WiFi, but it was not accessible in our room. Only outside, close to the main office. Also, the doorways and ceilings are very low in the Beach House 6. I'm 6'0" and had to duck to get into the bathroom. My husband is 6'8" and could not stand up straight in the bedroom without bonking his head! Those are not major complaints for us, and we would still stay there again! But, if you plan on doing any business from your room with WiFi, that could be a problem.

Room Tip: You can hear the surf from every room, so no need to go for the priciest room just for that. The ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your visit and your comments.

The Beach House has two units, 6 and 11. Beach House 6 has a queen bed in the bedroom, sleeper sofa in the living room, full kitchen and expansive bay views. Beach House 11 is a small bungalow that faces the garden with a queen bed, fridge, microwave and an outdoor seating/bbq area overlooking the bay. The beach house units both have a low ceiling.

Wifi is available on the property though last week our beach router failed. We’re taking the opportunity to upgrade our system which should be completed by this weekend.

Thank you for the feedback as it helps us prioritize what is important to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadephia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stay in hotels unfortunately for work at least half of the month so I feel like I have a good grasp on what to expect...
Read the ratings of this quaint little hotel/motel and they were spot on. New owners have done a great remodel on most?! (My room was well appointed albeit a little small)
But boy the staff are locals filled with all the good local knowledge and unbelievably accommodating and helpful. We met three which I thought was unusual for such a small place, and all working on the place and helping the guests out!
Enjoy the kayaks and paddle boards, the great view and chairs/loungers/benches/hammocks right on the sound...
It was super quiet and very (I mean VERY) clean!
Close to everything and just a quick question to staff for places to go or things to do....
Only thing I can complain about is the room was a little small but with the price, even that is a stretch!
Normally don't thank the staff but it was so comfortable, thank you!
I'm booking for later this year...
Also try to snag the bay side room or the 2br! Still same price as the "luxury" hotels rooms but much better....

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent several days in Key Largo and enjoyed our time at the Seafarer immensely! We found it very clean and charming. We stayed in one of the Villas and enjoyed the privacy when sitting outside under the Tiki Hut. Our only complaint was the sagging older couch which was difficult to sit in and get out of, otherwise it was great and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seafarer Resort and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarer Resort and Beach

Address: 97684 Overseas Highway, MM 97.8 Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key Largo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront cottages located in the heart of Key Largo. Enjoy spectacular sunsets, relax in a hammock, bbq, kayak, scuba, snorkel, all in the charming setting of the Old Florida Keys. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seafarer Resort and Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarer Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafarer Resort and Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.