We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and charming resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafarer Resort and Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seafarer Resort and Beach to your Saves list
Seafarer Resort and Beach
97684 Overseas Highway, MM 97.8 Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Key Largo
Armada, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint and charming resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Quaint, charming resort with personalized service. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. The private beach was wonderful with free kayaks and a breathtaking view of the sunset. There is plenty of chairs, chaises and hammocks to enjoy. A wonderful and relaxing getaway. Felt like I was stepping back in time to my childhood vacations.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    73
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
41
109
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Unique little spot in the keys. Nice beach with units that are a little run down but in a quaint sort of way. At the lower end of Key Largo. Clean rooms, quite location, noisy air conditioners. Really nice lagoon and beach area to kick back and watch the sunset. Within walking distance of a pretty good restaurant (as well as an ordinary but predicable Denny's). We only stayed one night so I'm not sure what it would be like for an extended stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Property was clean and inviting... staff was so friendly and went out of the way to assist you with any requests. Enjoyed sitting on beach with loungers, chairs, hammocks and the tiki huts... enjoyed using the free kayaks in the wonderful clear blue water... great location close to shopping and wonderful restaurants. .. will be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're glad we were able to make your weekend.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The owners are working hard to modernize the facilities, and they have done a nice job so far. The hammocks and the lagoon area was nice, as well as the sunsets. We just felt that it was over priced for what cottage #8 was worth. It was very tight quarters for a family of 4. The #8 cottage was also infested with ants in the restroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Our goal is to offer an excellent value as compared with other Florida Keys bay front properties with a beach, dock, kayaking, etc.

We continue to make improvements both inside and out so that we can meet our guest's value expectations.

Just last week, we've added to our beach a sandy peninsula with loungers and palms, right at the water's edge. Another Tiki and more hammocks are also on the way.

In the rooms, we're experimenting with memory foam toppers to improve the sleep experience.

We hope you visit us again so that we may exceed your expectation. BTW Summer and fall have great low rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East China, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful stay. We chose the Seafarer because they are dog friendly. Beautiful tropical setting, hammocks and lounge chairs at the waters edge, and seating outside every cabin. Peaceful and quiet, all employees friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for the great review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked the Seafarer Resort as we were in town for a wedding. We were pleased with the accommodations although we didn't have need for most of them (even had a stove in our cabin). Really loved the little beach and hammocks - it's one of the few places in Key Largo that has it's own little beach. Very old-timey Florida feel, super relaxing.

Room Tip: Cabin 10 was the closest to the highway but it was still super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was initially a bit disappointed when we checked in to the Seafarer a two day stay. The beach is small and was having a bit of maintenance. Our room was spacious, but had older mismatched, kind of shabby furnishings. I wondered what we would do for two days. But- the room was very clean, comfortable mattress, quality linens. The beach is small, but there are plenty of sitting areas. Nice landscaping. Free kayaking was great. The water is shallow and clear, so very safe for beginners. We walked twice to eat at Island Grill, excellent food. Also ate by the beach and enjoyed the tame squirrels. This is a laid back, low-key, relaxing resort. Not pretentious, not expensive. Staff was efficient. I was sorry to leave, and hope to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to beach are best, but we were in 15 by office and it was fine. Traffic noise did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Admittedly furniture is something that has received low priority. It's eclectic, funky and we try to move out anything shabby.

On the flip side, the beach maintenance that you referred to is the sandy peninsula at the water's edge that was just completed.

We didn't even get a chance to rake the sand before guest's moved-in. :))

We hope you have a chance to visit us again and enjoy the improvements.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seafarer Resort and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarer Resort and Beach

Address: 97684 Overseas Highway, MM 97.8 Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront cottages located in the heart of Key Largo. Enjoy spectacular sunsets, relax in a hammock, bbq, kayak, scuba, snorkel, all in the charming setting of the Old Florida Keys. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seafarer Resort and Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarer Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafarer Resort and Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.