We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Buzzard's Roost

The Buzzard's Roost
21 Garden Cove Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037
305 453 3746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 111 restaurants in Key Largo
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sebring, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food needed to be seasoned,mediocre at best. The atmosphere was nice and so was the staff. I had the conch soup and they brang me sherry and crackers to put in it. To make this soup taste like anything, I had to put alot of seasoning provided by the table just to make it edible, and there was very little conch in the soup. Should have been called tomatoe soup with conch entrail flavoring.The lobster tails were well done and the potato was fine but nothing stood out as worth going back to except for the scenery. For the price, it wasn't worth the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    178
    104
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branchburg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our first stop into Key Largo. Off the Beaten Path, but well worth it. Fish tacos were great. Also recommend the seafood bisque. Staff was great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great casual dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great local seafood, service and pricing. Try anything with hogfish. My wife loved the ceviche. They have a full bar and make all o f the "island drinks". This is definitely a place you will want to visit again. I know I will.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“This is our favorite place for dinner in Key Largo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Buzzard's Roost is a cross between gourmet cuisine and a place enjoyed by the locals. Laid back buit with a quiet aire of sophistication. They offer an inventive menu. The hogfish is a must-try, either in a taco or as an entree. Service is stellar, prices fair for the quality. Nice breezes off the ocean in their screened patio.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food and even better service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are a family of 10 with 4 kids. We went to buzzards roost for an early dinner to celebrate grandpa's birthday. It was excellent. We had hog snapper which is a delicate white fish; lobster reuben which was fresh and tasty, ceviche, cracked conch, blackend chicken sandwich, grilled fish, bbq ribs, conch fritters and desert. I tell you not one of the dishes were bad, they were excellent. BUT truly, the piece' de resistance was the waitress. Ms Jeanie (or Genie) was spectacular. THere isnt a request that she said no to, we never lacked napkins, drinks, condements... nothing. The service was better than any 5 star restaurant ive been to. That alone will have us coming back. She was patient, knowledgable and fast. WOW!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buzzard's Roost also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Buzzard's Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buzzard's Roost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.