We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals and Tourists!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobo's Cafe

Hobo's Cafe
Mile Marker 101- Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037
+1 305-451-5888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving fresh seafood to the locals of the Florida Keys since 1991. Patio dining available!
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Locals and Tourists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I asked our boat captain a few years ago where the locals ate. Hobo's! Each time we pass through we HAVE TO eat here. An excellent lunch. Huge salads, very fresh fish. AND KEY LIME PIE TO DIE FOR!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    305
    74
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mishicot, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch in a hurry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Tried the HOBO Cafe due to the recommendations from Trip Advisor. This place didn't let me down. Trip Advisor Restaurants generally never do. My wife had the Chicken Bruschetta Sandwich and I just had a piece of Key Lime Pie. My Pie was the best I had in the Keys (I had at least 10 different pieces of pie). My wife became addicted to this sandwich so we had to stop a second time on our way out of the Keys to get one to go. Waitresses were friendly and helpful. The food came quick. This place is a must stop if you are in or passing thru Key Largo.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We been in hobos for happy hour few times and everybody is very nice I read a review from never again and what she said is totally wrong is a very big sign that said no take out food in happy hours prices .i fell a shame as a Hispanic when we can get away with stuff we always blame it on race .Everybody at the restaurant has been very respecfull and the food is great do not judge the restaurant for that one review.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We ended up making a list on restaurants located in Key Largo, and this was at the top of the list and will remain there for sure! We arrived late on a Friday and were greeted cheerfully and were taken care of very quickly. The seafood was great, we had the grouper siting a op a creamy cheesy spinach sauce which was superb.

The key lime pie was also excellent and sitting on top it had two tiny key lime chocolate feet from a nearby Keys Chocolate store which we plan to visit in the near future.

This place was excellent from start to finish!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were looking for something after our snorkelling trip and were told about this restaurant by the boat crew,because of its fish dishes.
The food was excellent and they also had my favourite draught beer.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobo's Cafe also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hobo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobo's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.