We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Shrimp, Clam Chowder, Yellowtail in the. Florida Keys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House

Fish House
102401 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-4613
305-451-4665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 110 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fried Shrimp, Clam Chowder, Yellowtail in the. Florida Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The Location is west of John Pennecamp State Park on the same side of the road about a quarter mile from the entrance. This long time keys seafood cafe features fresh seafood of all types including fish, florida lobster, shrimp and oysters. I prefer the fried shrimp with Cole slaw but the grilled yellowtail is very good. A display case greets you and the fresh seafood is displayed right before your eyes. Simply prepared and delicious. Finish up with their version of key lime pie.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    498
    186
    64
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Little place... Big Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is awesome food. Nothing fancy. Just a little chilled out restaurant with really fresh food. I highly recommend this place. I go there after almost every dive. The fish sandwiches are always fresh. The conch soup is also very tasty. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Try "Angels on Horseback" and the house recipe Hogfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Wow - what a great local spot - terrific staff and great atmosphere - great house recipe hogfish and "angels on horseback" bacon wrapped scallops

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The fish might be fresh, nothing special about that in the Keys...everything else was mediocre.
Frozen corn in June ! old rice that was cooked hours ago ! Key lime pie do not even try...We could see the service station from our seat, Nasty !

Certainly a tourist trap, sadly creating a bad impression for the restaurant industry in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I visited the restaurant this past weekend. I had been here once before and ordered the lobster rueben and really had the desire for it again. We arrived at 4:30 with 8 people. The sandwich was not on the menu and I was told that was only for lunch. The waiter said they would not make it and it would be impossible since they already cleaned the grill. Not sure how that makes sense. Besides this, I felt very rushed through the whole dinner process and we had maybe 5 waiters coming and going, some with quite an attitude. It was kind of a confusing and uncomfortable experience. I ordered the shrimp and scallop scampi which was good but definitely not worth $25. The kids ribs were $11 and my daughters pasta with garlic and butter was $9 and drowning in butter!!! To sum up none of the dishes were worth the money they cost. So we get our check and good thing we checked because we were charged for an extra soup. Yes only $5 but still charged for something not ordered. Our bill came to $200 and I still can not get over the fact that with people spending this much money they could not bend the rules a little and have made the sandwich. So much for making the customer happy. Guess they don't care if people want to come back which I definitely will not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.