We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fresh fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House

Fish House
102401 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-4613
305-451-4665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 104 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Loved it! We had the catch of the day-Mahi Mahi and it was wonderful. Everything was fantastic, however, we gave the bartender a $50 for 2 drinks and she shorted us change. My husband called attention to the fact that it was a $50 and not a $20 and she corrected it but never apologized for making the mistake. Make sure you always count the change!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    430
    161
    59
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The food here is simply amazing. We had two great waiters who were very attentive and helpful in getting whatever we needed. All of the food my family ordered was very good. Both servers helped us find rxactly what we wanted to ear and how to have it cooked. They both also explained the menu very well so it was clear. Despite all of the bad reviews on here, those people were probably crabby already and this is how they take out their anger. Best seafood place in Key Largo by far.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My son turned 21 the day we ate there, and when he ordered a drink he got carded. We all had wonderful fresh fish, prepared different ways. When the meal finished, the waiter didn't ask about desserts--he showed up bearing a fresh whole snapper with a candle stuck in it! The waiters sang, took a picture of my son blowing out the candle, and then replaced the fish with a slice of the best key lime pie. Later they appeared with the photo mounted on a card. Great food, great service, and a fish surprise on a birthday. It was so good we went back the next day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

They have an awesome menu featuring lots of fresh, locally and sustainably caught fish. The place is busy but the staff is friendly and helpful. I didn't get a chance to see the wine list but the bar had a good selection of beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food - dark and dumpy inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch on the drive down to Key West. I had the yellowtail snapper matecumbe which was very tasty. My friend had the lobster reuben. She said it was just "good." I told her she ordered the wrong thing. We shared their homemade coconut ice cream for dessert. It was served in a real coconut shell with shaved, toasted coconut on top. It was fabulous. The restaurant outside was very nice, painted in bright colors. Inside, there were really cute, sea-themed Christmas lights hanging up but everything else was dark and dumpy. I expected to find some drunk asleep next to me. It would be a big improvement to lighten the place up a bit. Otherwise, the food is great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.