We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs. Mac's Kitchens

Mrs. Mac's Kitchens
99336 and 99020 Overseas Highway, 99336 Serving 7am- 10pm, 99020 Serving 11am- 10pm, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Mrs. Mac's Kitchen)
+1 305-451-3722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: EST. in 1976 a locals and visitors’ favorite, Original serving Champagne Breakfast, Award Winning Lunch & Dinner, Mon.-Sat.7am to 9:30 pm in a Classic Key-Easy atmosphere decorated with our guest’s license plates from around the world. Mrs. Mac’s Kitchen II Opened in February of 2012, located 500 yards south, serving Award Winning Lunch & Dinner, Mon.-Sat. 11 am to 10 pm in a Key-Easy Atmosphere decorated with Florida Keys history and the awesome design work of Kim Brandell. Being an extension of our Original brand Mac’s II offers the same great fare with exciting new dishes including full liquor bar, ample parking & great for large groups. Home of the Key Lime Freeze, featuring House Specialties including the freshest local sustainable seafood delivered daily, Certified Angus Beef, fresh salads, gourmet custom omelets, World Famous Key Lime Pie featured in Cosmopolitan Mag., 25 wines by the glass and over 25 beers to choose from, soft serve ice cream, outside seating, kids menu. Voted Best Home Town Cafe in Florida's Monthly Magazine, Winner of People's Choice and numerous other awards and acknowledgements.Hope to see you soon & bring your friends. Our simple philosophy.....Eat Well, Laugh Often, Live Long
Manchester, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved everything about this restaurant including the food and service. Our waitress was lovely and recommended the BEST food including the shrimp/jalipeno/cheese appetizers. Well worth the trip. Awesome diner!

Thanks so much,

John & Robi Turner

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,383
    697
    205
    60
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Attentive service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

There are a lot of great seafood restaurants on Key Largo, and this is one of the best. I had blackened mahi and it was done to perfection. The place was packed as always and I had to sit at the bar, but the waitstaff was very helpful. The waiter kindly substituted sweet potato fries for rice, which I appreciated. The atmosphere is eclectic (junk that comes off well as art) and there are as many locals as there are tourists. I'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great overall place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Service was very good, our waitress genuinely helped us and seemed to really like her job. The hostesses were also very attentive.
Fajitas were good, blackened tuna salad was very good.
The key lime pie waS to die for.
Very casual atmosphere, almost like a diner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, Key Largo, Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stopped for breakfast at Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, in Key Largo, on the day we drove to Key West. It was a fun atmostphere and the breakfast was tasty. They cooked my eggs just like I like them -- scrambled hard and a little brown around the edges. If you're driving your own car, from out of state, surrender one of your license plates for them to hang on their wall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go because it's an institution...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to my husband as a "need to go experience" it sort of place. We ate outside which means you are competing with the traffic buzzing by on Rt. 1. Overall, our food was good. What was most notable to me was the incredible service we received. Our waitress behaved as if she was honestly happy to see us and thrilled to wait on our table. What a pleasant surprise! I ordered blackened hogfish and was pleased with my dinner, it was a huge portion. Our ceasar salads were a bit "wet," but that would have easily been taken care of had I ordered my dressing on the side.
You don't need to go out of your way to visit Mrs. Mac's, it's not THAT good, but it's a fine stop if you find yourself in Key Largo and need a meal. What makes this place stand out is the friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Mac's Kitchens also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Mrs. Mac's Kitchens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs. Mac's Kitchens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.