We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, terrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo

DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo
99530 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
305-451-4885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 103 Restaurants in Key Largo
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: US 1
Description: Owned and operated by the DiGiorgio family, DiGiorgio"s Cafe Largo is authentic. When you think pasta, local seafood, veal, tira misu and others, DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo is the first to come to mind in Key Largo. The DiGiorgio family emigrated from the cities of San Marino in north Italy and Cassino, outside of Rome. Being in business in South Florida since 1968 we have developed a great following and reputation. In 1990, the DiGiorgio family moved to Key Largo and saw the possibilities of mixing all the varieties of local seafood available with pasta and other dishes. When in Key Largo, we welcome you with open arms. Become a fan of our Facebook page and keep with our specials, events, reveiws and anything we might come up with spur of the moment. Just search "Cafe Largo" on Facebook.
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I decided to take a break from seafood and try this family italian restaurant. We initially ordered water to drink while we decided on which "adult" beverage we would like, which the waitress did not seem pleased about. She was stand-offish and showed no personality whatsoever.

We ordered the stuffed meatball for an appetizer that was delicious! Both entrees arrived shortly after, but the toppings on my husband's pizza were not what he had ordered. The waitress did not return after taking our entree orders (someone else delivered them to the table) to see if everything was ok or to refill our drinks. We had to request assistance from the hostess since our waitress had gone missing. The hostess was very polite, apologetic and helpful. She corrected the pizza order and only after the corrected pizza was delivered to our table (which took quite a long time) did the waitress come to apologize. We spoke to some "regulars" at the table next to us who also had issues with the order and had to rely on the hostess for help.

The food was good and all other staff was very nice, but unfortunately we were seated in the incompetent waitress's section and our experience suffered

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    73
    33
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Minnesota
1 review
“"Great Italian & even better service!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Have been here in Key Largo for 5 days now & so far this has been our best meal yet! We were greeted politely & seated prompt. Everything we ordered from the appetizer (fried calamari) to our entree's (tour of Italy, Pasta creole) to our dessert (cannoli) was delicious! Our waitress Tammy was WONDERFUL! So friendly w/ such a bubbly personality and gave us some suggestions of local places to visit. Even the bus boy was polite & cleared our dishes right away. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting & craving authentic Italian food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expected to see Dean Martin to be seated next to us......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant has great Italian food, with great seafood specialties, but the retro atmosphere makes it memorable. I half expected the Hollywood Rat Pack to be eating at the next table!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great meal and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Of the restaurants that we tried in Key Largo this was our favorite! For an appetizer we had fresh breaded mozzarella, it was great. They bring you break which is drizzled in sauteed garlic, it was good but I'll warn you that you'll taste and smell like garlic for a day! I ordered the pasta with rosa tomato sauce and it was great! My husband initially ordered the shrimp special which came stuffed with risotto and (surprisingly) mushrooms. It didn't state on the menu that it came with mushrooms and the waitress was really nice about it and quickly offered to have him an alternative prepared. He then got garlic shrimp scampi with a side of pasta, it was great and he loved it. Even though we were stuffed we got a slice of the key lime pie and it was decadent.
This was a great dinner and we can't wait to return to DiGiorgio's!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After a long day of driving we found this restaurant on Urbanspoon and while it wasn't amazing to look at we really enjoyed the drinks and food. We definitely enjoyed the lasagna as well as the filet mignon and their drink menu was especially well thought out. If traveling through Key Largo I would stop here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo also viewed

 

Been to DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiGiorgio's Cafe Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.