We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & tasty meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish House Encore

The Fish House Encore
102341 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037
305-451-0650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 110 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Locust, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice & tasty meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had a lovely view of the water fountain. The food was really good and seasoned just right. I had the yellowfin fish blackened and a salad, husband had mahi and thought it was good. Kinda pricey, but good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    58
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
venice, Fl
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We travel to the Florida Keys every year,and we always stop to have a meal. A friend recommended this restaurant. What a delight. It is not too big,which is a good thing because it was quiet and peaceful. It is next to it's sister restaurant "The Fish House",which is very large and noisy,so this was just right for us.It was described as a piano bar by our hotel. We had very good service,our server told us about some of the favorites. Our food was excellent,the drinks were really good.You can sit inside or outside, outside is nice in the evening, there is a cool breeze,and you can enjoy the Florida lifestyle. We will go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Drinks are great but better food elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a disappointing meal given the reviews left here by so many. The oysters were bland and not shucked properly, the sushi was mediocre at best, and the fresh fish options limited. What the place has going for it in abundance is a terrific courtyard which is lively and relaxing, and an equally fun and delicious martini menu. My recommendation is to come here for drinks and plan to eat elsewhere. Even the conch fritters were meh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Next door to the Fish House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

They accept reservations! The Fish House does not. The menu prices are the same for both restaurants. See my review of the Fish House. " Why Wait When You Could Be Dining"

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Just alright, really. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Expensive seafood, mediocre sushi...eh, just alright. Only saving grace of Fish House, Encore is our waiter Colin was superb, attentive and respectful. We met some local friends there. Not once did we ever feel that we were an inconvenience to him even when we took forever to order because of our extended welcome chitchat with our friends. We had not seen them in a long time.

We had edemame (perfectly cooked and seasoned) & calamari (chewy) for appetizer.
I had stuffed shrimp (shrimp overcooked and crab stuffing soggy and oily) and side of crab cake (too much breading for filling not enough crab) and a Caesar salad (nothing special...kinda like Wendy's fast food) as my side item. My company had a Grouper platter. Grouper was tasteless. The minor in our group had California roll. That was pretty good, hence the 3/5 star overall rating.

I might come back another time to try other things in the menu, especially when stone crabs comes back in season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House Encore also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Fish House Encore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish House Encore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.