We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As the Keys used to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarpon Flats

Save Saved
You added Tarpon Flats to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tarpon Flats
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   29 Shoreland Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BUY 2 STAY 3RD NIGHT FREE
Ranked #3 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As the Keys used to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The setting for Tarpon Flats is just magnificent. A colonial style building converted into four large apartments, ours looked out onto a very idyllic scenic view of the Key Largo Sound. With its own private beach & moorings its restful, scenic & beautiful. Rose the Office Manager is extremely friendly & helpful & was a joy to meet, unfortunately our stay was only for a few days, but would love to return.
Give it a try, we're sure you'll thoroughly enjoy it as we did.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were met by Rose on our arrival and quickly paid our two nights and were installed in a room on the bottom level. She was very helpful with tips regarding where to eat, etc. The room was clean and was well equipped...furnishings, etc. are dated but that's okay...just don't go there if you are expecting a "Sheraton". The window blinds were a bit tricky to operate and it wasn't easy finding the keyhole at night as there was no light outdoors on the bottom level. The little beach area was lovely...a great place to sit and read a book and enjoy the sunset and sunrise you can see both from here! Kayaks and bicycles were available. There is no "breakfast"(even though the ad on the internet calls it a bed and breakfast) we stayed two nights in our room there was no housekeeping service...that was a bit of a surprise, especially since a sheet of paper in the room said that we should tip the housekeeper! That may have been an oversight. Otherwise we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I think it would be better to be on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Unique setting. Don't look for a hilton or marriott, but if you want layed back and rustic, but very clean a worthy visit. Rose the mgr a real treasure. Upstairs units have a special view, but either level would be fine. What other commentors say is very accurate. We used kyak and bikes and it was great. Only complaints no blue ray player only dvd or vcr, kitchen could have a few more pots, utensils, spices. Would book again on a return visit. We are retired couple and very experienced travelers and usually look for the out of the way type places.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a great place to begin a keys vacation! Everyone was very nice and very helpful. My biggest complaint was the hair dryer that was supplied. It had very little power, but honestly it was not that big a deal. They have kayaks and bicycles there to use when you want to. It was a great couple of day stay. It was exactly as they portrayed on their website.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was at Tarpon Flats. Felt so welcome and at home from the moment we arrived. Best part of our Florida vacation. We wish we could have stayed longer and will def be back. Our favorite things were grilling fresh fish and shrimp on the BBQ and relaxing in the hammock on our own private slice of paradise! Thanks Rose for taking such good care of us!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We started our Florida Keys journey in Key Largo where we stayed at Tarpon Flats. It is located on a remote little side road. THere is private parking, a small waterfront area with a hammock and chairs and free access to bikes and kayaks. You can even take the kayaks and paddle over to the national park - John Pennekamp.

The Tarpon Flats hosts were nice and helpful. They provided some great restaurant reccomendations via a detailed print out and coupon book for various local services, dining and tourist attraction savings.

Although our weather wasn't great the three days we were there, it was still fabulous.

Most people dined between 5 & 7:30-8 p.m, so we found going out around 7:30-8 meant we missed the dining crowds and had better service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Firstly, I should say that we booked this because with an offer, it was cheaper than another place which we were looking at. However, I'm delighted we chose Tarpon flats as I thought it was charming. It is surrounded by water on 3 sides with a small raised beach area (difficult to swim from) which was delightful with a hammock and a table and chairs. There is a small dock with free Kayaks and 2 bikes available to use.

My daughter and I kayaked around the marina on one day, then another day we ventured over to John Pennykamp State Park. It was about a mile of paddling but it was well worth the effort as we glided through some awesome mangrove tunnels - smug in the knowledge that we paid nothing to get into the park and that the kayak rental was free.

We ate in more than anticipated as it was well equipped. We used the grill on one day which (once a lighter was found) was very clean and a freshly cooked steak eaten on the private beach was a real delight.

The pool is small and un heated, but this is not why you come to the Keys. My daughter still had fun in it though.

I would certainly recommend this place for a few relaxed days in the keys.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tarpon Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats

Address: 29 Shoreland Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Tarpon Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarpon Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.