We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy but a Really Nice Place!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelican

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pelican to your Saves list
The Pelican
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
North Port, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy but a Really Nice Place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is the second year in a row we have stayed here. A group of us from SW Florida stay here for a long weekend and then travel up to the Nascar Race in Homestead. Rooms are old as in Old Florida so if you want fancy this is not for you. Staff is very accommodating, rooms are clean, WiFi is included and landscaping is quite nice. Right on the Gulf, canoes and or kayaks are available for use, two nice docks and a beach area with recliners make it very relaxing. A large Tiki Hut makes it suitable for a large group to hang out and cook on the grills provided and have a great time. A smaller Tiki Hut by the Office, right off of the little kitchen is great for a quick cup of coffee and to catch the news or whatever on the Flat Screen TV. A Burger King to the north is within walking distance, and Mrs Macs also within walking distance to the south has the best breakfast.. A CVS across the street is also there if you happened to leave a necessity of some sort at home. A really neat little place, but again if you are looking for something fancy or want to get waited on or pampered this is not for you!! Already made our reservations for Nov. of 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    99
    41
    17
    17
See reviews for
37
103
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a short birthday weekend stay, but it was very relaxing for the both of us. The place is easy to find, and is in walking distance of Walgreens, CVS, and Mrs. Mac's Kitchen. There's a path between the two sides of rooms, which leads down into the sea. There are beach chairs and a hammock to relax in and watch the waves roll. There's also patio chairs and a table for having a meal or drinks while watching the beautiful sunsets. Our room (Gator) was relatively small, but just enough for the two of us, so no complaints there. The refrigerator was useful, but we had to turn the dial lower, because it wasn't cooling anything. The microwave was old and just big enough to heat up a bag a popcorn. The TV was small, but didn't get used much, so no big deal for us. The air conditioning would be my biggest complaint. We didn't really need the comforter. The bathroom was generally clean, except for the gross shower knobs which seemed to have mildew jammed under the plastic covers. The breakfast consisted of pastries, cereal, fruits, bread and juices. Also, a toaster, waffle maker, and coffee machine was provided. The most annoying thing would be the outside light. There's a little light outside each room. They all worked constantly, except for our room's, which worked on a sensor (and which stayed on for, at most, 10 seconds). We asked twice to have it looked at, but was just told "it's on a sensor". Even after I got on a chair and fiddled with it, it didn't stay on any longer. I would recommend The Pelican to try and clear the beach area near the two docks of all the seaweed, so that it would make the visitors feel more comfortable about snorkeling, and using the kayaks, or canoe. Overall the staff was welcoming and friendly. The location is great.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the beach area are quieter (less screaming from occasional kids).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you expect the super service with luxury amenities, this is not your place. It is a small quiet hotel/motel with not many staffs. They will not do your bed every morning but I actually never have a problem with that. Breakfast is free. I can use a bike whole day or as long as I want. The place is near the bus stop and greyhound bus stop in walking distance which very helpful for my solo budget trip. I can ride a bicycle to John Penekamp park for snorkeling within half and hour. Did not use a boat or kayak but jus sat back and relaxed in the evening at the dock was super awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback! The Pelican staff works hard to make this happen. Great to see that you took advantage of some of our amenities. We hope you come back soon again and explore more of what the Florida Bay has to offer. Next time just ask for daily service in your room - it is at your discretion and will be done with our pleasure!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay -good location (right next door to Mrs Mac's), beautiful tranquil dock at the bottom of the property. I had a single room which was small, but clean and had everything I needed. The staff were helpful and I was able to use one of the bicycles free of charge. Breakfast was nice but on the second day, the waffle mix was already finished.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We appreciate your positive input and are glad you enjoyed Mrs Macs next door. We actually feature Mrs Macs for our room service!! But no one should go without waffles - so we will address that!! Come back soon again and have some more fun in the beautiful Florida Keys!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Amazing location and extremely reasonable rates- I'm giving 4 stars, for these two reasons. If I was just rating the room, I'd go lower- but who cares, when you have access to free kayaks/canoes and that beautiful view? We met some great people, who were having their wedding there- it seems to be popular location for weddings and I can see why, with that beautiful backdrop.
The breakfast was included and it was typical hotel/motel continental- I'd go up the street, if you're actually hungry.
If you're looking for luxury amenities, don't bother coming here. But, if you are looking for a great location that's extremely affordable and relaxing- check out the Pelican.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
The Pelican staff works hard to make every guest experience a positive one!! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to meet the wedding party!! We are able to offer the large Chickee area free of charge for events and weddings are the most popular. Please come back and see us soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is our second time at The Pelican, the first was for a friend's wedding in March. It's our new favorite spot to stay in Key Largo and right next door to our previous fave spot. We travel with another couple and (ideally) we like to get a cottage with a kitchen so that we can grill out on the patio and then have all the fixins going on inside. We were unable to get a room with a kitchen, this time, so instead I brought some pans I could use on the grill, we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner made on that grill for most of the weekend. Lobster season has just started so we stopped by the Fish House for some freshly-caught-right-there-in-Key-Largo lobster and Mahi and ate like kings for HALF of what it would've cost to eat that meal in a restaurant.
There are docks on the bay with some lounge chairs and a ladder to get in the water, we spent most of Sunday either floating around on blow up rafts or peering at the sea life through the cheapest masks we could find at CVS.
The rooms are as clean as they are going to get in a place in Key Largo that's on the water, but the floors are all tile so no need to worry about what's in the carpet. The towels and sheets are all clean and bleached and the cleaning crew drive around in their golf carts most of the day, if you need anything all you have to do is ask. Each room (without a full kitchen) has a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot and have quick access to a grill and seating area out front of each door. The beds could be more comfortable, that's for sure, but have another Corona before bed and you'll never notice.
We like to consider it "glamping", bring all the stuff you would need on a camping trip, charcoal, utensils, paper towels, plastic table cloth, etc and set yourself up in a nice room with cold a/c, sit out in your little porch area with the citronella burning and enjoy the plumeria and royal poinciana blossoms that fall at your feet.
We already have our next trip booked for March!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiremanstown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotels/motels are just a place for us to sleep when we go on vacations so we do not ask for much- just a clean place to sleep and shower. The decor was from the 70's and the beds were hard but for the price, I wasn't going to fuss.
The older manager/owner was very nice, very helpful- the younger guy- not so much, he was busy talking on his cell phone...not even getting off to sign us in.
We kayaked (free)- they have 1 regular kayak, 1 tandem kayak, and a canoe that are free to use. There were nice out door areas to sit and chat or watch TV, a washer and dryer for a $1 a load. Most of the time it was pretty quiet-
Free breakfast in the morning- cereals, milk, pasteries in packages and oranges- coffee too.

Room Tip: The Murphy Kitchen consists of a sink/stove top/mini fridge-freezer combo- yes, combo all in one uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We appreciate the constructive feedback and will incorporate it into our training program. The Florida Bay offers many wonderful water activities and its great you took advantage of it. On weekends, we also offer waffles on our continental breakfast to encourage guests to linger and relax. Come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 23 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.