We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise awaits visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelican

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pelican to your Saves list
The Pelican
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise awaits visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

On our way into the Keys, we stopped at the Key Largo Tourist Information Center, mainly to collect literature for a future visit. On impulse, we decided to spend the night, and were rewarded with this piece of the past on the shores of Biscayne Bay. The cottage rooms are as basic as you can get and the bathroom provided the necessities, which for us, was all we needed since we didn't stay there for luxurious accommodations. Good mattresses and very clean room met our needs nicely. A casual, carefree resort atmosphere was what we wanted, and we weren't disappointed. Kayaks, canoes, grills, a boat ramp and docks are available to guests. The large thatched hut type gazebo was a great place to enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast or watch the outdoor TV in the evening, only after the sunset over the bay. No need to experience it at Key West - it's here too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We appreciate your positive input and recognition of our staff's efforts to make your stay enjoyable. Please come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    108
    49
    20
    22
See reviews for
40
124
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We rented out most of the rooms at The Pelican for three days for our wedding and it was gorgeous there! The atmosphere, rooms, and scenery were a vision of paradise. Rain or shine, the area was beautiful and our wedding was one for the books! Thank you so much for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Go with the larger rooms as they offer a view of the ocean and definitely worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We always enjoy having weddings on the property and are appreciative of your kind words. Hopefully we have posted one of your wedding pictures on our website to share. We hope to see you soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

we stayed here two day,s and was quite surprised how nice and comfy it was. bathroom,s are a little small but everything is nice and clean. they offer kayakes, canoe, fishing poles, lounge chairs, and a nice hammock all included in the overall price. nice little continental breakfast in the a.m. we would go back again.

Room Tip: they have bigger rooms right at the water,s edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed at the pelican for the last two years this time we got married. Family and friends loved the place, it's a great deal and the sunsets and the old key style is very relaxing. It's a bed and a shower and that's all you need in the keys. This time we stayed on the beach and dock area these rooms are more than a room and a shower they have the view, a great place to wake up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We really love to take care of repeat customers particularly when it ends up with a wedding!! Our staff works hard to make each guest experience a wonderful memory. Your business is much appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The biggest issue we had was with the mattresses. Back-breakers! They were also so creaky it was hard to not wake up if you shifted or turned during the night! We stayed for three nights in one of the larger cottages. The water was peaceful and the surrounding area was fine. Breakfast was decent and there were many restaurants nearby. It was my first time in the keys and I wasn't sure what the lodgings would be like but from what I saw The Pelican could be standout if they made some small improvements(i.e. new mattresses and updated kitchen/shower). Over-all not bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We appreciate your constructive input and immediately replaced the mattresses. It is unfortunate this wasn't accomplished prior to your arrival. We do keep track of each and every guest issue which are reviewed weekly. We hope to see you sometime soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is what you typically think of the Keys - circa 1960s. It was old, but absolutely spotlessly clean. We stayed in the Mermaid room - ok size. It had table and chairs outside the room. The best part was the location - on the beach with docks, chairs, lounges, etc. And within a block you have a couple wonderful restaurants with great food. They offered a free kayak and bikes which we didn't use. The staff was very nice. Disappointed in the Continental breakfast. The only fruit was apples. And coffee was from a machine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Love the Pelican. Have stayed there 3 times. I go to Key Largo to dive while my family is visiting my in-laws. It is convenient, inexpensive and clean. The rooms I get are not suites, it's a bed with a bathroom, tv and fridge. Staff is always friendly and helpful.

The rooms range from a bed with two feet on either side to travel trailers. It is eclectic and interesting to say the least and reminds me of a place you'd stop at along Old Route 66, but with Palm Trees and Tiki Huts.

If that's what you are looking for I don't know of a better choice in Key Largo. But be warned, if you are looking for a 5-star hotel experience, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 23 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.